Omelette Anyone?

Our friend, Caity, came up to visit us 4th of July weekend.  Caity has Celiac and she doesn’t like to cook.  As she will tell you, “I’m lazy.”  Before we even planned her visit, I told her she was getting cooking lessons if she ever came up here.  A weekend isn’t a long time, so I fit as many cooking lessons in as I could.  The first one being breakfast.

The majority of the food I cook is naturally gluten-free, thanks to my whole foods diet.  So planning what to fix and what to teach Caity when she was here, wasn’t too difficult.  I did a lot of food prep before she got in so when it came time to cook, there wasn’t a lot to do.  When I had her make fajitas, I did have her do some onions, tomatoes, and cilantro to help her with her knife skills.

I will attempt to do this recipe style since I know some of you want recipes.  Pardon my clumsiness if I stray and forget to edit!  Also, the recipe as I’m typing it is for what I used when Caity was here.  I always alter things as needed and as my mood changes.

Omelette finishing up in the pan

Omelette

6 eggs

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk

1/2 teaspoon salt

Olive oil

Heat a large frying pan on low.  While pan is heating up, whisk the first 3 ingredients in a large bowl with a wire whisk or a fork until the eggs and coconut milk are well incorporated.  When the frying pan is well warmed, drizzle some olive oil in the pan and swirl it around to coat the pan.  Use small amounts and add it to it if needed.  Add the eggs into the pan and allow to cook until the eggs are firm on bottom.  Use 2 spatulas to turn the omelette.  Don’t do it too fast or you’ll splatter the uncooked part all over.  If it falls apart, don’t worry.  Practice makes perfect.  You should only need a minute or less to cook the other side.  Use the a spatula to help you slide the omelette out on to a platter or plate.  Fill with your favorite fillings, cut, and serve.

Omelette with Mustard Greens, Zucchini, Assorted Peppers, and Onions

Omelette Filling

1/2 cup sliced onions

1/4 cup chopped bell peppers (I used yellow, red, and orange for this one)

1/2 cup chopped zucchini

4 mustard green leaves torn into bite size pieces

Olive oil

Salt to taste

grated cheese

Heat a pan to medium.  Once pan is heated, add in some olive oil and swirl it around to coat the pan.  Add the onions and stir around until they start sweating.  Add in the peppers and zucchini.  Once the zucchini and peppers start turning bright, add the greens in and stir to get them wilted.  Once the greens are wilted, season with salt, stir, then add to the omelette.  Top with cheese and fold the omelette over.

Veggie Omelette, Black Grapes, and Sliced Fresh Peaches

Since Caity was with me, I was able to let her work on the filling while I tended to the omelette (after having her whisk the eggs).  I vary the veggies I use depending on what I have available or what I feel like.  I usually add mushrooms, too, but Caity wasn’t feeling that adventurous.  I cut the omelette into thirds on the platter before taking it to the table so it would be easier for us to take our portion.  Usually, when it’s just my husband and I, I serve up the plates.  But, when we have company, I serve everything family style and let everyone take what they want.

Ah, I love breakfast.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Celebrating Celiac « Hunter's Lyonesse

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Cinnamon Chia Pudding |


Leave a Reply

