Gluten-free Gravy….Groovy!

Gluten-free Mushroom Gravy

We get a whole local pastured chicken every other week in our CSA pick-up.  I feel the need to make chicken broth every time I fix the chicken to make sure I stretch out my use, as well as eliminate the need to buy chicken broth.  Typically, I’ll use the broth to make soup.  This last weekend I chose to make some mushroom gravy.  Ordinarily, this isn’t something I would have attempted.  I am getting more and more adventurous with food, especially since going to whole foods, then gluten-free.

My good friends and family might be falling over when they see this post.  Up until last December, I didn’t like mushrooms.  I’d tolerate them on my pizza or if they were hidden in something else.  Give me something where the mushroom is the star of the dish and I’d look the other way.  I realized if I was going to a whole foods diet, I would need to start working the foods I previously passed on.  Hello mushrooms!

I was mixing mushrooms with other veggies and at times, fixing them with onions to top the occasional steak.  I was intrigued by Iris’  post on Balsamic Chicken with Sweet Mushroom Gravy and decided to try it out.  I was extremely pleased with the results.  I believe I said it before, I’ve not been disappointed with any recipes of Iris’ that I’ve tried.  I was thinking back to this recipe after making chicken broth this past weekend and decided to try it for myself.

Gluten-free Mushroom Gravy

Leftover Roasted Chicken with Gluten-free Mushroom Gravy

1 cup sliced mushrooms

1/2 cup sliced onions

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 cup chicken stock

2 teaspoons organic corn starch

pinch of salt

Heat pan on medium, then add olive oil and swirl in the pan.  Add onions to the pan and cook until translucent, about 5 minutes.  Add mushrooms and cook until the mushrooms and onions start to brown, about 5 more minutes.  While the mushrooms and onions are cooking, whisk together chicken stock and organic corn starch in a medium bowl to form a slurry.  Turn the heat down to medium-low and stir the slurry well again and add to the pan.  Simmer for 20 minutes, stirring often, until thickened.  Remove from heat and spoon onto chicken.

The corn starch can be substituted for other gluten-free starches/flours.

I definitely have a new view on mushrooms, as well as gravy nowadays.

2 comments

  1. I was just reading back to some old posts and caught this. Thanks so much! I’m always nervous when people try my recipes, and so glad that you like them! If you try the tomato ramen soup, let me know what you think. It was seriously my favorite soup of the summer!

    • I love trying your recipes, Iris. I know without a doubt they will turn out delicious. I got so comfortable with your recipe for the gravy, I’ve altered it to suit what I have on hand or how I decide to fix the chicken. 🙂 I am trying the tomato ramen soup tonight! I’ll be doing the broth this afternoon. I’m pretty excited to try it!


Leave a Reply

