Comfort Food

Meatloaf, Mashed Potatoes, & Roasted Brussel Sprouts

My first time making gluten-free meatloaf, I left out the bread crumbs and relied on egg and flax seed to help hold it all together.  It was tasty, but my husband wasn’t fond of it not really sticking together.  I can’t say I blame him.  It’s hard to adjust to old favorites done differently, at times drastically.

I made it again a few months later, this time using gluten-free bread crumbs from Katz Gluten-Free.  I was amazed.  It was even better than my gluten-full recipe.  Alas, I forgot to write it down.

It’s been pretty cold around here and when I made last week’s menu, I decided I needed some comfort food.  There is only so much snow I can take you know.

If it is at all possible, I think the meatloaf was even better than the last.  I nominate it for Best Meatloaf Ever.  I didn’t even add tomato sauce or ketchup on top.  I couldn’t find the sauce I thought I had when it was time to put it on and said screw it and let it bake some more without it.  It was so good that I didn’t even have any saved for later use in spaghetti sauce.  Yes, I ate it all.  Well, most of it.  Okay, 2/3rds of it.

Best Meatloaf Ever

2 pounds ground beef (I used grass-fed beef)

1 cup gluten-free beef broth (I make my own)

1 1/2 cups gluten-free bread crumbs toasted with minced garlic, then tossed with fresh parsley (I made the bread crumbs from some gluten-free bread)

1 egg

1 teaspoon oregano

1 teaspoon thyme

1 teaspoon sage

1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

salt

pepper

pizza sauce, spaghetti sauce, or ketchup (optional)

Preheat oven to 350.  Add all ingredients to a large bowl and mix well with your hands.  Pour into a loaf pan (if you have a meatloaf pan, use it).  Bake for 45-55 minutes.  Add the tomato based sauce on top in a thin layer and bake for 10-15 more minutes.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Caraway & Leeks

I love Brussel sprouts.  I know they aren’t everyone’s cup of tea, but I can’t pass them up.  I usually make them pan roasted with either ground coriander or ground cardamom.  This time I oven roasted them with leeks and caraway seeds.  So easy and so tasty.  The caraway seeds kept jumping into the mashed potatoes and adding a little flavor to those, as well.  I do miss rye bread and bite that caraway gives it.  I thoroughly enjoyed this.  If you don’t like caraway, it would be fine with just the leeks.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Caraway & Leeks

Brussel sprouts, trimmed and quartered

Grapeseed oil (or other oil of your choice)

1 leek, halved lengthwise, sliced, and rinsed

caraway seed

salt

pepper

Preheat oven to 350.  Place all ingredients in a baking dish (I used a 9 x 13 because I had a lot of Brussel sprouts), toss, and place in the oven.  Bake uncovered for 20-30 minutes.  Bake longer if you like your Brussel sprouts well cooked.

This post is linked to Seasonal Sunday at Real Sustenance

This post is linked to The GFE Virtual Gluten-free Support Group at gluten-free easily. 

8 comments

  1. Pingback: Adopt-A-Gluten-Free-Blogger: Tasty Eats At Home « Hunter's Lyonesse

  2. Pingback: Lazy Sauce « Hunter's Lyonesse

  3. Delicious! I can’t wait to use our new oven. The old one didn’t work. How do you make beef broth? Is there a link?

    Love what you do!

    • I haven’t done one for beef broth yet, but if you don’t want to buy it (there are gf beef broths out there – I buy them when I don’t have any bones to make it myself) take some bones from a steak, ribs, or roast with a little meat on it and put it in a pot or a slow cooker. Add some onions, carrots, and celery…or other veggies. OR take veg trimmings that you would normally throw away (should be washed as well as the rest of the vegetable) and freeze them until you’re ready to make broth. I do this for most of my broths. I will even save the middle of the tomatoes to make broth, it works well if you cut around and down the sides like you might a bell pepper. Add a little salt (you can salt it a little more at the end) and herbs – fresh, dried, or frozen (I like to freeze fresh herbs that about about to turn to use for things like this or for sauces). Thyme is my favorite for broth. I also add a dried bay leaf. I use enough water to at least cover everything.

      If you are using a slow cooker, put it on low and let it cook overnight or while you’re at work. If you are using the stove, simmer it for a few hours. Season with salt (and pepper) again near the end if you want. Strain into ziploc bags or tupperware and freeze if you are not using right away. If you can, process it. I like to freeze some of it in smaller portions (about 1 cup each) that will be ready to use for making sauces and in larger soup size portions (about 6 cups).

      😀 You have my number, you know you can always call with questions!


Leave a Reply

