The Little Changes

Giving out treat bags of my homemade aromatherapy goodies while Stick checks out a present

The last time I had short hair was 2006.  That was the year Stick married her Old Man and then had their son, aka My Little Obi-Wan.  I had a long layered style that was pretty versatile and served me well while I had a career in which I dealt with the public a lot.  It also kept the Winter static to a minimum.  The static is bad when it’s short.  It’s even worse when the hair is long.  It’s the whole reason why I cut it short after living in Kentucky for a few years.

Dancing at Stick's wedding reception

My husband wasn’t happy.

I cut it to one length before the wedding because I decided to grow it out again.

Hubby was happy.

A few years ago I fell in love with a long angled bob I saw on a woman on Tim Gunn’s Guide To Style.  I think what made me fall in love with it was seeing it on an Asian woman and being able to visualize it on me.  Rarely do I see hairstyles on other Asian women that I think, “OMG!  I have to have that haircut!”  I really wanted that cut.  I was really tempted to cut it because that winter static was getting to me again.  When I mentioned it to my husband, he wasn’t happy.

I went on a search for a new shampoo and conditioner.  That was when I re-discovered Wen Cleansing Conditioner by Chaz Dean.  You can thank infomercials for reminding me that I had some of his product sitting around from a previous failed attempt to use it.  My hair felt funky after my first few times using it.  After watching the infomercial I realized I was using it wrong.  I tried it again that night and my hair never felt so smooth or soft before.  I kept touching it because I couldn’t believe it.

Alas, I’ve had to give up my beloved Wen because it has gluten and it makes me sick.

2 years ago (that's my husband next to me). The hair was past my waist up until Tuesday.

My hair is back to being static-y and frizzy from all this Winter weather.   Then there are the tangles.  I’m not used to them.  Last week, my husband and I were doing errands on a rare weekend day that I was given off from work.  My coat and scarf stayed on despite being indoors because I get so cold easily.  It was dinnertime before I took it off when we got to the restaurant.  My hair felt like a bird’s nest, especially around my neck.  I tried to run my fingers through and it was tangles galore.  It took me several minutes to comb it out with my fingers since I don’t carry a brush with me.

That was the last straw for me.  I didn’t care if my husband wasn’t going to be happy about me having short hair again.  He’s not the one that has to take care of it.  While I love my long locks.  I don’t love the static Winter brings and I abhor the mat of tangles I have to work out.  Wen really spoiled me.

I made an appointment at Pure Concepts Salon & Spa.  That was it.  After that I couldn’t wait.

When I toyed with the idea after watching Tim Gunn’s show, I looked into donating my hair to Locks of Love.  So, I was prepared when I went in for the cut.  Little did I know that the salon was going to take care of everything for me.  Which was a good thing, because even though I remembered the pony tail holder, I forgot to bring a Ziploc bag with me.  The funny thing was, I think my stylist was more nervous about cutting my hair than I was.  She stood behind me and asked timidly, “Are you ready?”  “Yes!” I answered.  Snip. Snip. Snip.

She held up the bound up long lock of my hair she cut off and said, “Take a good last look at your hair.”  I couldn’t believe how much hair it was!  She cut at least 12 inches off for the donation and then at least another 4 after that.  I nearly come to tears thinking about the lucky kid that will get the benefit of my hair.  I lost my Granny to cancer 6 1/2 years ago.  I’ve lost other friends and loved ones to it, as well.  So doing something this personal to help someone with cancer touches me and means more to me than donating money or buying a product that will support research.  Giving of your money is one thing.  Giving of your self is quite another.

I didn’t get my angled bob layered like it was in Tim Gunn’s show, but I know I can always do that later if I want.  For now, I’m happy and everyone else seems to love it.  It’s funny how a new hairstyle and compliments you get from it (and I’m not one to ever fish for compliments) make you feel good.  We can all use a little self-esteem booster now and then.  Making little changes for ourselves are sometimes the stepping-stones to increasing our self-confidence.

Loving my new look and that some lucky kid will benefit from my choice.

4 comments

  1. Awww, Debbie, this post made me both laugh and cry. So sorry you lost your grandmother and others to cancer. We all have and they are such hard losses because of the toll cancer takes on all involved before our loved ones actually leave us. How wonderful that you have donated so much of your beautiful locks (even if they are uncooperative at times) to Locks of Love! And, you still look beautiful, of course. I’m sure your hubby agrees!

    xoxo,
    Shirley

    • Thank you, Shirley! They are definitely hard losses and Granny was an extremely difficult one since she passed 7 weeks after she was diagnosed and I happened to be there. I’m just glad my hair will help a child in need and will give them that little self-esteem boost, too!

    • Thanks, Stick! 🙂 You know I had to go through all the pics of all the visits out over and over again to find one where we both actually looked good (and I wasn’t completely toasted). lol


Leave a Reply

