Lazy Sauce

Cut tomatoes around the core to make them easier to seed and chop.

When you think of spaghetti sauce do you think of slaving over a stove for hours stirring your life away?  That’s how I learned to make it.  Slaving in the kitchen for something that turns out amazing.  It’s worth the work if you have the time.  And the patience.  There are days that I don’t have either.  When my Filipino tapeworm rumbles, it must be fed or there is no end to the grumbling.  Add to that the nature of my job being so physical.  Sometimes I don’t want to be in the kitchen forever.  My feet like to rest, too.

These days my sauces for pasta are easy.  Things that won’t take me a long time to do.  Chop, chop, chop, throw in pot.  Or pan.  Stir a few times.  Voila!  Easy.

What makes it even easier is when you have leftovers to use up but don’t know what to do with them.

Tonight, I made a meat sauce chock full of vegetables.  My intention was to just use tomatoes and a zucchini.  That’s all I bought for the sauce.  However, I found myself with half an eggplant that needed to be used or it would end up tossed and some mushrooms that Chaz bought, but didn’t use.  That would be a lot of chopping though.  I didn’t want to do a lot of chopping.  My body is still in recovery from being glutened 4 times in 2 weeks and work has been very busy which

Veggies in the food processor

has added to the physical stress on my body.  I also had an ACE treatment (acupuncture, chiropractic, and energy work) this afternoon.  So the other question was, prep before or after the appointment?

I chose before.  I threw all the produce in the food processor and then added it to the crock pot with the leftover meatloaf.  It didn’t look quite so colorful as before I started the processor, but there was still flavor and lots of nutrients!

This sauce lends itself to using just about anything for a pasta sauce that you might need to use up.  It helps to stretch that dollar.  You can stretch it even more by saving your veggie trimmings in a ziploc bag in the freezer for making broth later.  I like to use carrots in my sauce when I have them.  I don’t normally use eggplant because it does change the color and the taste of the sauce significantly.  I always use tomatoes and garlic, though.  Always.  That is a must.  I’m hoping the tomato plant I bought Sunday will yield some nice tomatoes in the future for more Lazy Sauce.

Lazy Sauce (serves 6)

1/2 leftover gluten-free meatloaf (if you don’t eat meat or want meat that night, use beans)

Pasta with Lazy Sauce

5 tomatoes, seeded

2 cloves garlic, smashed

1 zucchini, 3 inch slices

4 baby bella mushrooms (ends trimmed)

1 handful basil leaves

salt

Process tomatoes, garlic, zucchini, mushrooms, and basil in food processor for about 4 minutes.  Add veggies through the tube if everything won’t fit at one time.  Place the processed produce in a slow cooker on low with the leftover meatloaf (or beans).  Stir after an hour to help break up the meatloaf.  Cook for at least 6 hours on low.   The longer you have it in the slow cooker the more flavor develops and the juicier it becomes.  Add salt about 30  minutes before serving.  Garnish with anything you like.  Fresh herbs, cheese, etc.  For tonight’s dinner, I garnished with Parmesan cheese and Crushed Chili Pepper.

8 comments

  1. Debi,

    I love it! I make a raw sauce that I’ve been making for years after too many “slave” days over the hot stove for a so-called simple pasta meal.

    Now that I think of it, why didn’t I use that sauce for my April in the Raw recipe? Doh!

    Anyway, love this post!! 😉

    xo,
    Gigi

  2. Lazy sauce sounds just right for anyone if you ask me. I think we all should aspire to be lazy in the kitchen. As you’ve shown, lazy still can mean very, very good. 🙂 Hope you are seeing more benefits of the ACE treatment today. Getting glutened even once does a number on us, but four times … OMG. Huge UGH.

    xo,
    Shirley

    • Laziness can be the best thing in the kitchen, Shirley! Although, I decided to make something complicated out of Silvana’s cookbook today. I nearly opted to put it off for tomorrow, but not enough leftovers for tonight and tomorrow’s lunch. lol I am seeing some benefits. I already felt better last night and I got 9 hours of sleep. 😀 Which I’m going to need since I close tonight and go back in before we open tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

