Breaking The Fast

Leftover Rice, Kabocha, & Gluten-free Chicken Mushroom Marsala Gravy with a Fried Egg for Breakfast

When I’m not busy on my days off, I always remember to eat breakfast.  If I don’t, my body rebels.  I love breakfast.  Not just the typical breakfast foods, but taking leftovers and putting an egg over it.  I’ve done it with many a leftover.  Soup.  Chili.  Curried beans and veggies.  Yes.  A runny egg makes it all better.

Last week I was thinking about breakfasts and I was remembering when Dr. Cuz graduated from college with her undergrad degree.  Chaz and I trekked up in the car from Louisville to Minneapolis.  I remember not letting Chaz pull in to a hotel because I wanted every minute possible with my family.  Granny & Papa came in from California.  Auntie J and Uncle J came in from Hawai`i with my other cousin, Dr. Cuz’s sister.  Yes, we made the long haul straight through.  Wouldn’t you if you were seeing family?

The morning of her graduation, she took us to her favorite place for breakfast near the school.  I’m a pancake fiend.  At least I was.  I adored buttermilk pancakes from scratch.  I could tell when I had pancakes from scratch and when I had them from a mix, too.  My determination of a restaurant’s breakfast worthiness was based on if their pancakes were from scratch or a mix.  Now, it’s how good is their most well-rounded healthiest breakfast?

So, I ordered pancakes.  Granny ordered this massive french toast concoction.  It was several pieces of french toast with tons of blueberries, bananas & walnuts.  She talked about how good it was the entire breakfast.  For years after until she passed away, she still talked about it.  With me at least.

Gluten-free French Toast with Blueberries, Bananas, Walnuts, & Pure Maple Syrup Drizzle

I started thinking about that french toast last week.  I even made an extra run to the grocery for the ingredients I needed.  That’s a rare occasion.  I hate going back to the store after I’ve done my weekly trip.  I really wanted that french toast.

I opted to use Whole Foods’ gluten-free Prairie Bread for this.  I love that the bread is full of seeds, meaning extra nutrients.  Let’s face it.  Sometimes it’s been at least 12 or more hours since we last ate when breakfast comes around.  We need all the nutrients we can get when we break our fast.  The more nutrient dense your breakfast, the less likely you’ll be snacking all day long.  I don’t care what those cereal commercials say.  A bowl of cereal is not enough.  I used to love cereal, too, but it never made me full enough.  Besides, anything that needs to be fortified to give you vitamins and minerals your body needs can’t be good for you.

Gluten-free French Toast with Blueberries, Bananas, Walnuts & Pure Maple Syrup Drizzle

Gluten-free bread

2 eggs

2 tablespoons Coconut Creamer

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Grapeseed oil

Handful of blueberries

Handful of walnuts

1 banana, sliced

Pure maple syrup

Whisk eggs, coconut cream, & cinnamon in a flat bottomed dish.  Heat pan over medium heat and add a drizzle of oil, enough to barely coat the bottom.  Coat both sides of each piece of bread in the egg mixture and place in the pan.  Cook on each side until the egg mixture is fully cooked.  My original batch yielded 8 pieces of french toast.  Place french toast on a place and add blueberries, bananas, & walnuts.  Slowly drizzle a small amount of pure maple syrup over the french toast.  You just want a tiny bit to slightly enhance the sweetness of the fruit.

If you don’t eat gluten-free, just use your regular bread.  Feel free to experiment with different fruits and nuts.  So many possibilities.  So many breakfasts!

This post is linked to Seasonal Sunday at Real Sustenance.

This post is linked to Friday Foodie Fix at The WHOLE Gang.