Gluten-Free Cooking Day

I’ve spent the last few hours in the kitchen and my feet are sore.  I’m trying to rest them up to see if I can manage my interval training before I deejay this afternoon.  Otherwise, I’m exercising afterwards.   Everything I made today fits in with my whole foods diet.

Gluten-Free Pizza Crust

The first thing I made was the Gluten-Free Pizza Crust from the Tropical Traditions website.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Coconut Oil Protein Bars

It literally took me 5 minutes to put it together and get it into the oven.  It takes 30 minutes to bake with a turnover halfway through.  I’ve been picking at since it started to cool off.  Good thing it wasn’t  for a pizza!  If you look at the recipe most of it is cheese as that is what holds it all together with the flours, but the taste isn’t overly cheesey.  It is a bit oily though, so just be prepared with something to wipe your hands with if you are handling it.  I’m glad I have an extra package of cheese in the fridge.  I have a feeling I’ll be making more in a few days.

The next thing I went for was the No-Bake Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Coconut Oil Protein Bar, also from the Tropical Traditions website.  This was another easy one that took about 10 minutes to mix together and put in tupperware.  It’s still in the freezer right now.  I’ll be able to take it out and cut it into bars.  We are supposed to be going to Georgetown tomorrow so my husband can do chado demos at the Georgetown Cherry Blossom Festival.  He still doesn’t have the details, so that is why I say “supposed to”.  I plan on taking some of these with us since I know a lot of the foods that will be sold by vendors will be noodle  based.

Hint O' Chocolate Muffins

Carrot Cake Bites

Next, I tackled the Hint O’ Chocolate Muffins from the Daily Dietribe blog. These took quite a bit longer since I was opening new bags of flours and trying to put them in labeled containers as I used them.  Go figure, I forgot the sorghum flour this morning at the grocery.  Thanks to the handy-dandy internet, I looked up substitutes and found that amaranth flour can be used – or at least someone said they’ve used it without problems.  So, in went some extra amaranth into the mix.  The muffins haven’t been through my quality control test yet, but the batter wasn’t so bad.

I washed out the food processor and started in the Carrot Cake Bites from Simply Savory’s Daily Bites blog.  These are also no-bake and are setting up in the fridge as I type.  I was rolling them out when my husband came home and says ,”Where’s my wife?”  Pfft.  As if I don’t cook at all.  I did take him a little bit on a spoon to taste and he thought it was kabocha.  Shhh don’t tell him it has nuts in it.  Oops.  I guess they are all mine now!  There is no flour in the Carrot Cake Bites at all.  It only tastes like cake.  It’s all carrots, nuts, dates, cinnamon, fresh ginger, and a little orange zest.  I’m not a big carrot cake fan, but I did take a little taste before rolling them out and they are heavenly!

Laundry seems to be calling and then I’m off for some quick interval training.

2 comments

    • They are delicious! Like I said, I’m not a carrot cake lover, but I know when I eat them they have a good protein-fat-carb balance. They came in handy to take with us in a cooler on our outing yesterday and my husband gave a friend one and she loved it.


Leave a Reply

