Grilled Peaches With Blueberry Sauce

Grilled Peaches with Blueberry Sauce

Sometimes when I think of something to attempt, it takes me a while to actually put it together to see if it works.  This little treat was something I came up with when I was trying to figure out something for June’s SOS Challenge.   I had a bit too much on my plate and too many hours at work to be able to dedicate the time I needed for this.  Especially since the blueberry sauce needs to be made in advance.

This is a simple dish that can be topped with just about anything you like.  I have sliced almonds topping this in the picture.  I also topped it with Udi’s Au Naturele Granola for a cobbler type taste.  I think some mint sprigs would go nicely with it as well.  This is great for a healthy dessert, snack, or breakfast accompaniment.

The leftover peaches will develop their own syrup when you store them in the fridge.  That turns them into a great topping for some gluten-free (or not so gluten-free) waffles and makes them taste better than canned peaches.

Grilled peaches & sliced almonds on a gluten-free waffle

I have a grill/griddler that I use for all my grilling.  The lengths we have to go through to grill outside in our complex are too much for me to invest in a small outdoor grill.  We have community grills, but who knows what has been on those.  Right?  Just keep in mind if you use a charcoal or gas grill, your cooking time will likely be less.

Grilled Peaches With Blueberry Sauce  – serves 6-12

3 peaches, pitted and sliced

1 pint blueberries, washed and dried, then cooked ahead of time.

Cinnamon

Preheat your indoor grill to high (or get your outdoor grill hot).  Pinch cinnamon over peach slices and add to grill, cinnamon side down.  Pinch more cinnamon over the top sides of the slices.  Grill for about 5 minutes, you want good grill marks on them and the cooked side should start to look like canned peaches.  Turn the slice and cook for another 5 minutes.  Warm up blueberry sauce if you pre-made it and it is stored in the fridge.  Remove peaches from the grill.  Divide among dishes and spoon some blueberry sauce over them.  Top with nuts, granola, and/or mint.

This post is linked to Wellness Weekend at Diet, Dessert and Dogs and Slightly Indulgent Tuesday at Simply Sugar and Gluten-Free.


7 comments

  1. Pingback: Eat a Peach! Over 60 Gluten-Free Peach Desserts Recipes ... Which One Will You Choose? | All Gluten-Free Desserts...All the Time

  2. Pingback: Eat a Peach: Over 70 Juicy Gluten-Free Peach Dessert Recipes! - gfe-gluten free easily

  3. Pingback: Juicy Gluten-Free Peach Dessert Recipes – E-DeshSeba


Leave a comment