Review: Bloomfield Farms Muffin Mix

Blueberry muffins getting ready to go in the oven

Those of you who know me well know that I don’t really engage in conversation with people I don’t know and since radically changing my diet, I don’t really buy baking mixes.  Not that I bought a lot of baking mixes before changing my diet.

This morning I was walking down an aisle at Whole Foods to get to the baking items because I needed more coconut crystals.  This particular aisle has a break in it so you can cut through halfway to the next aisle if you so desire.  On the endcap in the middle, they keep a selection of gluten-free baking mixes.  I tend to give this endcap a once over to see if there is anything new.  Instead of the usual once over, I gave it a passing glance as I kept walking for my target.  Something was different.

Stop!

The muffins nearly doubled in size

Back up.

An entire shelf was full of gluten-free baking mixes I had never seen before.  I took a closer look.  And as luck would have it, the vendor was stocking the shelf right then and there.  He struck up a conversation with me and right away I was impressed.

Bloomfield Farms is based in Bardstown, Kentucky.  Just a stones throw from Louisville.  Their gluten-free products are produced in a dedicated facility and test at/under 5 parts per million (ppm).  Pretty cool considering so many “gluten-free” products test higher.  The facility is also nut-free!   The vendor, John Morris, was very friendly and we talked far longer than probably either of us meant to.  It was just one of those conversations you walk away from feeling good.  And smiling.

Fresh from the oven

As you can probably guess, I decided to try the muffin mix out of all the choices I had – muffin, cornbread, pizza crust, bread loaf, all purpose mix, pancake/waffle, cake and cookie.  Muffins aren’t something I make very often anymore because they just get really sticky.  They stick to the pan no matter how much you grease it and they stick to liners if you use them.

I fixed these as soon as I got home and had the groceries put away.   I couldn’t wait.  I was good to even remember to take pictures because I was so excited I nearly just ate them as soon as I pulled them out of the oven.  I was able to just pull the muffins out of the muffin tin.  No sticking!

Can you see the fluffiness going on in there?

The muffins were light, fluffy, and rose nearly double in size while baking.  They aren’t too sweet at all.  The blueberries I used were sweeter than the mix.   I ate three.

If you see Bloomfield Farms mixes on your store shelves and you like using mixes, give them a try.  They are like blank canvases and you get to add the additional ingredients.  I could have made cherry or mango muffins since I have plenty of them fresh on hand.  However, I chose blueberries since blueberry muffins are my favorite.  I also used So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk instead of regular milk.  John said he’s had consumers rave about their pizza crust being the best they’ve had.  You can also order their products online.  If you’re in Cincinnati on September 24th, they’ll be at the Celiac Awareness Tour at Xavier University.

2 comments

  1. Wow, these look delicious! I’m not much of a mix-buyer myself, but with more and more GF mixes hitting the shelves, I’m finding myself trying them. I don’t think I’ve seen Bloomfield Farms available here yet, but I’ll bet I can get my aunt from Cinci to send me some!


Leave a Reply

