In The Raw

Raw Veggie Spring Rolls

I’ve been trying to consciously do at least one meatless meal per week.  The day would vary and a few weeks ago, I figured it was high time I adopted Mario Batali’s Meatless Monday to ensure I did it week after week.  I know the idea isn’t solely his, but he is the first person I saw promoting Meatless Monday.

So, last week, I decided to make Raw Veggie Spring Rolls.   The Loving Cafe makes them, but calls them Summer Rolls.  It’s my favorite thing on their menu.  Bonus, if there is one near you, they have identified the gluten-free items on their menu.  I never really thought about making them until I saw them made on Bitchin’ Kitchen.  I had never watched the show before.  My husband likes it and made me sit down to watch when he saw it was on one afternoon.  I don’t even remember the ingredients she used because I was too busy dreaming up my own.

I intended to come up with my very own dipping sauce for these.  But, if you follow me on Facebook, you’ll know that’s the day I made the bacon jam.  As soon as I tasted the bacon jam, I knew it would be a perfect accompaniment to the Raw Veggie Spring Rolls.  It was slightly sweet, vinegary, and meaty.

So much for Meatless Monday last week.

Add a dollop of bacon jam!

What I love about Raw Veggie Spring Rolls is that you can put almost any raw veggie in one.  I’m already thinking about using jicama and avocado the next time.  Another great thing is you can use either the rice paper wrappers or just use leafy green lettuce.  No, not iceberg lettuce.  I said leafy green lettuce.  Bibb, Romaine, Green Leaf, Red Leaf, etc.  All it takes is a little imagination to come up with your own.  Raw Veggie Spring Rolls also give you the opportunity to have the entire rainbow of nutrition in one sitting.  Taste the rainbow!  No, put down the Skittles and pick up a Raw Veggie Spring Roll.

Raw Veggie Spring Rolls

Rice spring roll wrappers

Spinach

Red & Yellow Bell Pepper, julienned

Cucumber, seeded & julienned

2 Carrots, peeled & julienned

1/4 head red cabbage, shredded

Cilantro

Prepare the rice wrappers according to the package directions as you are preparing each spring roll.  After blotting the wrapper, add 3-5 leaves of spinach (depending on the size of each leaf just above the bottom third of the wrapper.  Build on top of the spinach with the cilantro, shredded cabbage, peppers, carrots, & cucumber.  Pull the bottom third of the wrapper up and over the veggies and tighten it up.  Roll once, then fold the side ends over.  Continue rolling.  There is no need to use anything special to seal the wrapper.  It will seal on its own.  Serve with your favorite dipping sauce.  Or bacon jam…

This post is linked to Seasonal Sunday at Real Sustenance.

5 comments

  1. These look really good! My husband looked over and got excited about the bacon jam. If I could find a good substitute for the coffee, I might make it. Any suggestions?

    • Bean, I’m not sure about the coffee substitute. I used decaf myself because I’m not supposed to have caffeine. I think it would depend on what you’re trying to steer away from and what would be safe for you. I’m pretty sure you could make it without the coffee (using just water) at all and it would be good.

  2. Pingback: Ginger Spread «


Leave a Reply

