Hot Day Refresher

Cucumber Lime Mint Spa Water

I don’t know about where you are, but the heat index is 110 as I write this.   A thunderstorm is moving through and I’m hoping it will cool things off.  In the meantime, I’m keeping cool with something I’ve seen a lot of lately.  Spa water.

Sounds hoity toity, doesn’t it?  Maybe so.  But think about all those flavored waters people buy.  This is just like that only you use real, whole foods.  No additives.  No sugars.  Nothing bad for you.  I guarantee you, it’s mighty tasty and cool right now.

You can make spa water in just about any combination you’ll enjoy.  I used cucumber, lime, and mint.  This is how I made mine.

Cucumber Lime Mint Spa Water – yield 1 gallon

Filtered water

1 lime, sliced

1/4 cucumber, sliced

Fresh mint

Place the lime, cucumber, and mint into a gallon sized pitcher and pour the water over until the pitcher is full.  Place in the refrigerator for a few hours to let everything co-mingle together.  (I used a slotted spoon to remove everything because I knew I wouldn’t go through the pitcher before the end of the day.)  Pour into a glass and enjoy!

It’s a great healthy alternative to juices, flavored teas, and sodas.  I think next time I’m going to make it with lemon and raspberries.

Leave a Reply

