Chocolate Peanut Butter Milkshake

Chocolate Peanut Butter Milkshake

I really had chocolate and peanut butter in mind when I created my Chocolate Raspberry Milkshake.  What’s not to love about chocolate and peanut butter?  Granny was the first to introduce me to the combination with chocolate peanut butter ice cream.  I don’t mean the crappy peanut butter ice cream with chocolate chunks.  I mean the rich chocolate ice cream with peanut butter swirls.  Peanut butter M&Ms came out when I was in college, but I didn’t like the peanut butter inside so I continued to dip my plain M&Ms in my jar of peanut butter.   Nowadays, it’s a schmear of peanut butter or other nut or seed butter on a square of Lindt 85% chocolate.

What really inspired this milkshake was a restaurant not far from where I lived once I moved out of the dorms and on my own.  KC Drive-In made what they called, Ono Ono Shakes.  It was a peanut butter shake made with ice cream and you could have it on its own or with strawberries or chocolate.  Yep.  I got the Chocolate Ono Ono Shake.  By the way, ono means good in Hawaiian.

Sadly, KC Drive-In closed down not long after I moved to Kentucky.  They were all sad to lose such a good and loyal customer.

I jest.  About the latter, not the former.

I had a conversation with a friend who happened to be visiting O`ahu not too long ago about KC Drive-In.  That got me wanting a Chocolate Ono Ono Shake.  A healthier updated version.

This does not having anything frozen in it, but you could use ice cream, frozen coconut milk (ice cube trays are not just for water!) or ice.  It will still feel like a shake even without having the same texture.  I liked making it with So Delicious coconut milk because it didn’t call for pre-planning or prepping anything ahead of time like freezing the milk.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Shake – Serves 1

600ml So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk (or other milk alternative, or even milk)

2 tablespoons peanut butter

1 1/2 tablespoons raw cacao powder

1 tablespoon raw local honey or your favorite sweetener

Place all ingredients in a blender and blended until thoroughly mixed well.  If you use ice cubes, frozen milk cubes, or ice cream.  Place about a cup in the blender before adding the coconut milk and fill with the liquid to the 600ml mark.

10 comments

  1. I adore the combo of peanut butter and chocolate! Who in their right mind doesn’t? Looks like a great and healthy treat, you’re my kind of girl Debi. Thanks for the coconut milk ice cubes tip!

  2. Pingback: Hawaii’s Nicknamed Eats | The Tasty Island


Leave a Reply

