Grain-Free Ginger Molasses Cookies

Ginger Molasses CookiesIf you follow me on social media, you heard about my allergy treatment last week. I had enough of the headaches and wondered if they were a reaction to something. I couldn’t pinpoint it myself because I wasn’t eating the same thing all the time. If it kept trying, I never would have figured it out.

Water.

My body wasn’t liking water, soda, sports drinks, and tea. I never drink sports drinks, I rarely drink soda, and lately I’ve only been drinking herbal tea. Water I drink like there is no tomorrow. When my doctor tested me in the subcategories, I was reacting to the glucose and caffeine in soda. He said the times when caffeine alleviated the headache, it was overriding my body’s initial reaction.

Go figure. Allergic to myself and water.

I had to not eat or drink anything for two hours after the treatment. My first sip of water I had I start to feel the first inkling of a headache and I switched to coconut water for the rest of the day. I started drinking water again the next day and no reaction. I am glad they are gone!

I’ve had a little more energy since then, too. Pumpkin Palooza is going on in my kitchen and I am churning out projects I’ve sidelined for months. Feels good.

On to cookies.

These cookies will be slightly more on the ginger side than the molasses side, which is what I wanted. If you love molasses cookies, never fear. You will still be able to taste the molasses.

I use cashew butter in this recipe because the flavor will not overtake the ginger and molasses. I did not attempt to make these with Sunbutter because of my current sunflower seed allergy. If you or a loved one has a nut allergy, you can use Sunbutter in place of cashew butter and pumpkin seed flour in place of almond flour but taste your batter first. You may need to make adjustments so the Sunbutter does not take over as it tends to do. You can add ground ginger if you need to, but only add a little at a time. You can always add more, but you cannot take away.

Grain-Free Ginger Molasses Cookies (makes about 2 dozen)

1 cup cashew butter (I used roasted natural)

1 cup almond flour

3/4 cup blackstrap molasses

1/4 cup Ginger Spread

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 375ยฐ. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper or a Silpat liner (I use the Silpat liners for no waste).ย Mix all ingredients together in a medium mixing bowl. Drop batter by tablespoonfuls onto the cookie sheets and press with the back of a spoon or your fingers to flatten slightly. Bake for fifteen minutes. Remove from the oven and let rest on the cookie sheets for five minutes. Remove cookies to a cooling rack and allow to cool before eating. The longer you let them cool before trying to eat them, the better they will firm up.


5 comments

  1. Debi, these are clearly very wonderful cookies! I could almost reach through the screen and grab one with this awesome picture of yours. I’ve never heard of or seen ginger spread so I had to look that up. It seems like a great item to have on hand. I know my basic market doesn’t have it, but I’ll look for it at Wegmans.

    Reacting to water is so crazy! I’m glad you’re getting back on track now and doing fun stuff in the kitchen. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks so much for this recipe!
    Shirley

    • Shirley, I have a link in the recipe for my Ginger Spread recipe. I actually saw it at Jungle Jim’s one time and after seeing the ingredients I knew I could make it healthier. ๐Ÿ˜€ I love it. It comes in handy for a lot of things for a ginger lover like me. ๐Ÿ˜€ Right? I never would have thought I was reacting to water, especially since I filter my water. So CRAZY! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Dear heart, I could not tell that was a link. You might want to make the link a different colored text for older eyes. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I am thrilled to know I can make it myself! And when I go look at the recipe, I’ll probably see that I even commented on it when you posted it! LOL

    I would love a reverse osmosis system for my water and/or a Berkey, but I guess you still would have reacted. Our bodies are sometimes so off kilter they surprise even those of us who’ve been through the food intolerance/allergy wringer numerous times. Hopefully, that was a minor blip and all will be well for the future!

    • Thanks. ๐Ÿ˜€ I went ahead a bolded it. I’m going to have to do some digging when I have more time to see if I can change the link color. I haven’t seen where I can do it yet and if I can’t, it’ll be another theme look for me. ๐Ÿ˜€ I think after coming up allergic to myself and to water I will be looking at everything seemingly innocuous the next time I know I’m reacting to something. Just glad I thought that maybe the headaches were a reaction since they were so different from any other headache I’ve had!

  3. Pingback: 120 Gluten-Free Gingerbread and Ginger Desserts Recipes | All Gluten-Free Desserts...All the Time


Leave a comment