Spicy Plum Sauce

Spicy Plum Sauce

Spicy Plum Sauce

Did you catch my guest post at In Johnna’s Kitchen for Soften Saturdays last weekend? It’s about living a childless life. Click on the link to check it out.

Today’s recipe was inspired by Gluten-Free Gigi. If you’ve never read my posts where I impart oodles of gluten-free love on Gigi, don’t bother searching my blog. Just go straight to hers. She shared a recipe for her Spicy Red Plum Sauce a few weeks back. I was so smitten with the recipe I decided to make it for a dipping sauce to go with Summer Rolls several days later. However, I could not find plum jam, nor was I going to run all over town searching for it. Plus, hot sauce is a no-no for me with the yeast allergy.

I figured if I’m going to alter it, how hard can it be to make it from scratch?

Easier than pie, folks. Five simple ingredients and only one you would likely have to go to the store to purchase.

I was so enamored with my final product that I kept eating Summer Rolls even though I was full just because I wanted more of the sauce. Good thing I can’t overeat the way I used to. I was way too full after two extra Summer Rolls.

I used leftovers to cook a pork tenderloin in the slow cooker and topped the slices with more. This lasted for two weeks in the fridge. I’m surprised I took that long to go through all of it.

The sauce tasted best to me at room temperature.

Spicy Plum Sauce

6 ripe plums, rough chopped (use the variety of your choice)

1/2 yellow onion, sliced

1/2 cup raw honey (or other sweetener of choice, if using white or palm sugar, you may want to start with 1/4 cup and test before adding more)

1/2 teaspoon chili flakes

pinch of salt

Add all ingredients to a small pot or saucepan. Bring to a boil on medium heat. Turn heat to low and simmer for 10 minutes or until the plums and onions are soft. Puree with an immersion blender or regular blender.

This post is linked to Whole Food Fridays at Allergy-Free Alaska, Wellness Weekend at Diet, Dessert and Dogs, and Slightly Indulgent Tuesday at Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free.


10 comments

    • Thanks, Shirley! Is anyone keeping track of all the suggestions of what we should make at the retreat??? LOL I know we keep saying things we should make, but I know I’m not keeping track!

      • I was thinking I should send out another email with some specific ideas I had and then get everyone else to chime in. I think that would be a good way to go since we won’t have Diane as our coordinator this time. 😉 I have a few meal ideas that I will include in the email. *Hopefully,* I can get that out later today. I do think one of the gifts of this group (and all past groups) is the ability to take real food and make “instant” meals. 🙂

        Shirley

  1. Pingback: Candida diet, whole foods, sugar-free, vegan Wellness Weekend Event | Diet, Dessert and Dogs

  2. Pingback: Candida diet, whole foods, sugar-free, vegan Wellness Weekend Event | Ricki Heller

  3. Pingback: Hot Ginger Apricot Sauce «


Leave a comment