Hot Ginger Apricot Sauce

Hot Ginger Apricot SauceI attempted the Autoimmune Paleo Protocol. A tension headache started in the middle of Day 1 and continued into Day 2 until I caved and had some coffee. I figured in the grand scheme, if I was going off the rails to help kill a headache, better with caffeine than ibuprofen. The headache was gone within minutes. If only my former migraines were so kind. I had this headache about a month before. It lasted for days. Even the chiropractor and acupuncture didn’t have a lasting effect on it, just a few hours of relief. It wasn’t until I broke down and had a Cherry Coke that it went away nearly a week after it started.

So this headache niggled. It went away that night but it taunted me all week. “I’m still here,” it snickered. Saturday it decided to throw a party while getting my hair done. We were supposed to be driving down for our niece’s first birthday party and having a headache was not an option. I picked up some coffee on my way home only to find the party was canceled, but my headache was leaving. Or so I thought. It’s still playing games with me.

I decided that there seems to be something going on putting stress on my body that is causing these headaches. Trying to do a special diet not required was only adding to the stress on my body. I would prefer not to have another adrenal crash, thankyouverymuch. No more Autoimmune Paleo protocol for now. I am trying to limit the foods that are eliminated on the AIP, except for coffee. Okay, maybe one cup a day is limiting for some people, but that’s normal for me. Too much and I get too jittery. I can’t be jittery. Too much to do that keeps getting put off because I lack the energy.

Today was supposed to be a post on my travels. Yes, I have several more posts to do. My pictures had another idea. So, I’m pulling something out I did after the Spicy Plum Sauce.Β I was so in love with the Spicy Plum Sauce I wanted to see what else I could do before going on the AIP because chili flakes are not allowed. This time I used my favorite, ginger, and apricots that were in my weekly produce delivery. If you made the Spicy Plum Sauce, it is similar, just some different ingredients. You can use this as a dipping sauce for Raw Summer Rolls, homemade chicken fingers, or a topping for pork chops or tenderloin. I loved it as a dipping sauce and a topping for pork.

I call it Hot Ginger Apricot Sauce not because you have to use it while it is temperature hit, but because it is a tad spicy between the chili flakes and the amount of ginger I use.

Hot Ginger Apricot Sauce

6 apricots, stone removed, rough chopped

1/4 yellow onion, sliced

1/4 cup raw local honey or other sweetener (or omit)

2 tablespoons ginger root, minced

1/2 teaspoon chili flakes

Add all ingredients to a small saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat. Simmer for twenty minutes on low. Remove from heat. Use an immersion blender to puree until smooth in the saucepan. If you do not have an immersion blender, use a regular blender or food processor. Set aside and let cool if using as a dipping sauce. Store leftovers in an airtight container/mason jar in the refrigerator.

This post is linked to Whole Food Fridays at Allergy-Free Alaska and Wellness Weekend at Ricki Heller.

5 comments

  1. Pingback: Vegetarian, Gluten-Free Roundup: Homemade Lemon Drops Make Me Smile

  2. That is such a beautiful sauce! It makes me think of those sauces served in Asian restaurants. They are always so lovely because of the combo of sweetness and the spiciness from the ginger. πŸ™‚ So glad you’ve got the headache thing figured out now. and reading this makes me want a Cherry Coke (or Cherry Pepsi). Haven’t had one those in years, but loved the combo. πŸ˜‰

    Shirley


Leave a Reply

