Sauteed Tart Kale

Tart kale using citrus instead of vinegar to make it yeast-free

Tart kale using citrus instead of vinegar to make it yeast-free

I was used to finishing off greens with a little vinegar at the end of a saute or braise. I had to rethink this when I had to pull vinegar out of my repertoire because of the yeast allergy. Removing vinegar was probably the hardest thing this go-round because I adore vinegar. I attribute it to the Filipino in me that adores ginger and garlic more than most people.

Two weeks after my treatment for the yeast allergy and I’m still tolerating foods with yeast. It doesn’t mean that I won’t be making this Sauteed Tart Kale again. We need variety on our plates

You can use lemon instead of lime if you want. Just use half a lemon instead of a whole. No matter how you fix it, kale and onions are a good boost for your immune system. I fixed a lot of greens with anything from the allum family (onions, garlic, leeks, etc.) last Winter when I was battling so many infections because adrenal fatigue drained my immune system.

Sauteed Tart Kale

Olive oil

1 bunch kale, chopped (I prefer Lacinto, but you can use any variety)

1 yellow onion, chopped

salt

pepper

1/2 teaspoon ground coriander

Juice of 1 lime

Heat a large skillet/saute pan over medium heat. Add enough olive oil to coat the bottom of the pan. Add kale and onions. Season with salt and pepper to taste and saute until the the onions are translucent and the kale is wilted but still has a bright green color. Add coriander and stir. Add the lime juice and stir well to incorporate into your kale and to deglaze the pan. Serve warm.

This post is linked to Whole Food Fridays at Allergy-Free Alaska and Wellness Weekends at Diet, Dessert and Dogs. 

Leave a Reply

