Raw Banana Pudding

Raw Banana Pudding with Whipped Coconut Cream and cookies

I discovered the art of making cafeteria food more palatable back in college.  Two desserts of things I like?  Combine them into one.  Banana cream pie and chocolate pudding.  I just like bananas and chocolate together.  So, seeing both desserts on the line one night I picked up both and then dumped the pudding onto the pie.  One of my bosses affectionately started calling it “Moo pie.”

When I moved to the South/Mid-West.  Depending on who you talk to, Kentucky is the South.  Others insist it’s Mid-West.  Whatever.  The point is, the food was vastly different when I moved to Kentucky.  Banana cream pie?  Forget that.  Have some banana pudding loaded with Nilla Wafers and topped with tons of whipped cream.  Okay.

A couple of months ago, Chaz was wanting banana pudding.  I starting thinking.  Yes, I can do it gluten-free, refined sugar-free, and dairy-free.   I CAN DO IT RAW!

I did a few attempts of this before I got it to the point that I liked it.  I was so excited with my final recipe that I was trying to get Chaz to taste it as soon as he woke up.  He  declined.  *sigh*

When he finally tried it, he liked it, but to him it wasn’t enough like “pudding” to him.   It was a few hours after chilling and it actually was set better the next day.

Raw Banana Pudding with Whipped Coconut Cream

3 slightly overripe bananas (the pudding tastes better if they are overripe and not ripe)

1 pint So Delicious Coconut Creamer

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

2 tablespoons agar agar flakes

1 can full fat coconut milk

Optional: Enjoy Life Vanilla Honey Graham Cookies (not refined sugar-free)

Place your full fat coconut milk, mixing bowl and whisk in the freezer while preparing the pudding.  Pour 1/3 of your coconut creamer into your blender and add the agar agar flakes.  Let it sit for 10-15 minutes.  Blend the creamer and the flakes together until smooth.  Add the rest of the coconut creamer, the bananas and maple syrup to the blender and blend again until smooth.  Pour into a 9×9 pan or other serving dish of similar or slightly larger size.  If you choose to use the cookies, layer them at the bottom of the pan/dish and along the sides.  Refrigerate at least 2 hours.  It gets thicker the longer it sets in the fridge.   For the whipped coconut cream, take all the items out of the freezer.  If you are using a stand mixer, put the bowl and the whisk back on the stand.   Open the coconut milk and pour into the mixing bowl.  Whisk on high until the milk is thick and creamy.  Refrigerate.  The whipped coconut cream will thicken up more in the refrigerator, too.