Soup’s On!

Turkey Soup

It’s the time of year when I make a lot of soups and stews to keep me warm.  Making my own broth makes it simple and easy to do.  Especially when you have leftovers to play with.  If you think about it and you tend to stock your fridge with veggies like I do, you can always make some kind of soup.  Anyone want to try making an Everything But The Kitchen Sink Soup?

I still have turkey broth in the freezer I made after Thanksgiving that I’m using up.  Chicken broth is called for in the recipe?  No problem.  Turkey broth to the rescue!  I have a big container of beef broth in the freezer, too.  That comes in real handy since there is a lot of gluten laden beef broths on the market and I can easily use it for stew or gravy.

I actually made this soup Christmas Eve.  My husband helped out and prepped the veggies for me while I was at work. All I had to do when I got home from work was throw everything in the pot.

Turkey Soup

6 cups turkey broth

2 cups chopped turkey

1 onion chopped

3 carrots, peeled and sliced

3 celery stalks, sliced

1 teaspoon dried thyme or 1 tablespoon fresh thyme

1 bay leaf

salt

1 cup fresh or frozen peas

Add all ingredients except salt and peas to a stock pot and bring to a boil.  Lower the heat and simmer for an hour or until the carrots are tender.  Add salt to taste.  Add peas.  If using fresh, simmer for 15 minutes more.  If using frozen peas, simmer for only 5 minutes.  This will help keep the peas from overcooking.

2 comments

  1. Debi, Your soup sounds wonderful to me and very much like my Everything Soup! 🙂 Soup is one of the easiest ‘non-recipes” to make … economical, easy to make gluten free, a way to get creative (or not), and more. 😉

    Shirley

    • Shirley, my soups are pretty much everything I can get in the pot that I have on hand and need to get rid of! You are so right about it being a non-recipe and economical. I love making a big batch and freezing some for a leftover night later. 🙂


Leave a Reply

