Grass Fed Gluten-Free Beef Stew

 

Gluten-free Beef Stew

 

I really wanted to do a post on the soap I just made yesterday.  Alas, I could not find the USB cord to upload my pictures to the computer.  This place is a disaster and it could be anywhere.  So, I figured I should blog on some of the food I’ve been making, but haven’t had the time to write about.

One of the things I love about stews and soups is you can throw things in a pot or slow cooker and leave it.  If you are cooking it on the stove, you will have to check on it occasionally.  You can also throw pretty much anything you want in there.  What I really love is when I use potatoes and it cooks long enough, the starch from it ends up thickening the stew on its own.

The Whole Foods near us carries “local” grass-fed beef.  I say “local” because it really comes from Georgia.  For some reason they consider that local.  I don’t, but oh well.  It’s still grass-fed.  I bought some beef for stew since it had been a while.

Gluten-Free Beef Stew

1 pound beef cut into chunks (or bought pre-cut)

1 onion chopped

2 potatoes, diced

1 kabocha squash, diced (skin on)

3 tomatoes, diced

4 cups gluten-free beef broth

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

2 tablespoons arrowroot + water for slurry

herbs, salt and pepper to taste

1 1/2 cups frozen peas

Brown the beef in a pan and then place in a large pot or slow cooker.  Add all the ingredients but the arrowroot slurry, salt, and peas.  I use an herb mix my best friend’s mother gave me.  If I don’t use it, I like to use a mix of thyme, sage, and savory.   Let the stew simmer for 2-3 hours, longer if in the slow cooker.  If the potato starch didn’t thicken the stew, make a slurry with the arrowroot and water.  Stir the stew while adding the slurry to prevent clumping.  Add salt to taste.  The last 5 minutes of cooking, add the frozen peas.  If using fresh peas, add them in the last 15-20 minutes.  This late addition helps prevent the peas from overcooking (which I find key to getting me to actually eat peas).

 

Leave a Reply

