Red Sangria And White Sangria Poptails With A Bonus

Berry Sangria Poptails

Shirley shared a poptail recipe on Facebook by another blogger a few weeks ago.  This not only spawned a conversation about poptails and retreats between the two of us, it also gave me an idea.  Two ideas to be exact.  Red Sangria and White Sangria.

I have wanted a Zoku for a while now.  I decided this was it.  Chaz even laughed when I told him I was going to get one and about the conversation Shirley and I had.  He did not protest once.  The next day I bought one and the fun commenced.

I’m keeping this short and sweet because I have a mid-shift this afternoon and I’m trying to get this out before I have to get ready.  Besides, I’m sure you’re more interested in the recipes than my ramblings.  These recipes will have some leftover if you use a Zoku and manage to get the 9 that one will make.  No worries because the leftovers can easily be frozen to a granita or just drink it straight.  It’s 5 o’clock somewhere, right?   They also have no sugar added.  You can use any wine you prefer but if you use a dry wine, I would suggest adding a little sweetener of your choice.

Berry Sangria Granita

Berry Sangria Poptail

1 pint blueberries

1 pint blackberries

1 pint raspberries

1 cup red wine (I used Barefoot Sweet Red)

Wash the berries and set out to dry.  Place the berries in a bowl and add the red wine.  Cover and refrigerate at least 4 hours.  Remove from the fridge and add to a blender.  Blend well.  Pour into your molds and let it set.

Fruity White Sangria Poptail

Fruity White Sangria Poptail

1 Golden Delicious apple, cored and chopped

1 pear, cored and chopped

1 white nectarine, chopped

1/2 orange

1 cup white wine (I used Junebug Moscato)

Juice the orange into a bowl.  Add the chopped fruit and coat it well with the juice.  Add in the white wine, cover and refrigerate at least 4 hours.  Add to a blender and blend well.  (If you taste it after blending, this is where you’ll do a big WOO! like I did)  Pour into your molds and let it set.

Happy Hour!

If you have leftovers and want to make a granita, pour the mix into a shallow container and place into the freezer.  After an hour take it out and scrape down the frozen parts with a fork.  Put it back in the freezer and repeat every hour until it is all frozen and scraped down.  If you happen to forget about putting it in the freezer, you can still scrape it down when you remember and have some granita.

 


14 comments

    • LOL I told Shirley that the next retreat we all have to make a poptail recipe. I’ll make these. 😀 I think the white ones are my favorite. Must be the Moscato! lol Right before yoga? Sure! Laughing yoga will be THAT much longer! HAHAHA!

  1. These are amazing, Debi!! To hot for red wine? How about a Sangria Poptail? I love it!!! And I’m all for poptails right before yoga or right before chedda fondue!

  2. Pingback: National Food on a Stick, Gluten-Free Round-up | In Johnna's Kitchen


Leave a comment