Gluten-Free In Berkley: Mission Heirloom

Mission Heirloom

We left Portland and headed south for Arcata, California. My best friend went to Humboldt State and I loved visiting her there. We intended to hike the Redwoods and Fern Canyon. My body had other plans and by the time Arcata was in sight, the back of my throat was scratchy. Other than going out for our first meal there (dinner), I was in bed the whole time.

We moved on to Napa where I was moderately better and more medicated with cough syrup for the cough that would not leave.

One of my friends from church during my college years lives in Berkeley now. We interact a lot on Facebook these days, but back in college, I hung out with his brother and another friend more than him. If you can believe it, they were the troublemakers and I was the one reining them in. Oh, the antics from young adulthood!

We drove into Berkeley and met up with him for lunch at Mission Heirloom – a market/restaurant with an edible garden. It is the type of place you would see on Top Chef. In fact, it’s within walking distance from Chez Panisse. The only difference is, Mission Heirloom is gluten, grain, legume, and soy-free.

Yes, you read that correctly.

Thankfully, my friend is adventurous and up for a new food experience.

Mission Heirloom 5

I had to order the Belgian waffle. It was drizzled in honey and dusted with cinnamon. It was delicious with the crispy crunch Belgian waffles are supposed to have. And just look how gorgeous that presentation is. Gluten-free food can be fancy too.

I don’t know what the usual is like at Mission Heirloom, but going for lunch they couldn’t fix a sous vide egg for me to have on the side because it would take too long (it’s on the menu). And Chaz ordered the Fried Chicken & Waffles, but they were out of the fried chicken (no, we didn’t go late). They were able to use another type of chicken for him, but he didn’t care for it. I would love to go back to see if it was just a one-off and we went on a rough day.

Heck, I’d love to go back to Berkeley just to go to Chez Panisse. The food scene in Berkeley is where it’s at.

Mission Heirloom 6

Of course I’d go back to see this guy too. I might be mean, but I’m not heartless!

2 comments


Leave a Reply

