Gluten-Free In Lake Oswego: Kyra’s Bake Shop

Kyra's Bake Shop 3You might be familiar with Kyra’s Bake Shop even if you haven’t been to Oregon. That’s because Kyra Bussanich is a 4-time winner of Food Network’s Cupcake Wars. I admit to hearing about her first and second wins, but not knowing anything more about her other than she is a gluten-free baker. I had no idea where her shop was located at all. Chaz didn’t tell me much more than he found a gluten-free bakery for breakfast and with that, we were off.

It wasn’t until we were inside that it hit me that we were in the Kyra’s Bake Shop.

Color me excited, but uncaffeinated.

Chaz had mentioned doughnuts, but there were none when we arrived. I chose the closest thing – a cinnamon roll. And a slice of butternut squash quiche. And an Americano. The cinnamon roll was sweet and doughy – by far the best gluten-free one I’ve ever had.  Kyra's Bake Shop 2

He went for cupcakes – German chocolate and hot chocolate. Chocolate does not disappoint. Kyra's Bake Shop

Before we left, I bought a few things for the road since the following day we would be leaving for Arcata, CA. An everything bagel, bourbon marshmallows, and a Brew Dr. Kombucha. I got sick as soon as we got into Arcata, so having the bagel for breakfast and marshmallows for hot cocoa in the hotel room came in handy. I only wish I had bought more of the kombucha – it was some of the best I’ve had. If we had more space for it, I would have.

Bottom line, if you’re ever in the area, go to Kyra’s Bake Shop, gluten-free or not because you will have some seriously delicious treats and not even know they are gluten-free.

Also, bourbon marshmallows = genius.

2 comments


Leave a Reply

