Gluten-Free In Los Angeles: Daily Grill

Can I say how much I loved being at a park named for Johnny Carson? To infinity and beyond.

Can I say how much I loved being at a park named for Johnny Carson? To infinity and beyond.

Chaz tried to get Obi-Wan to go to the park before our second visit to the hospital to see Mara Jade (and Dawn and her Old Man) to run around and get some energy out but he didn’t want to go. Somehow Dawn talked him into it while we visited. So off Chaz and I went with him, leaving Mom to visit with Dawn and Mara Jade longer since Mom was returning home the next day and Dawn wouldn’t be released until she was gone.

We drove to Johnny Carson Park near the hospital in Burbank. Obi-Wan played on the playground while I watched and took pictures from the bench and Chaz hovered within arm’s reach. After ten minutes, Obi-Wan was done. He was hot and having none of it. We walked the dirt trail and when he saw the street he headed for it knowing the car was parked on the street. What he didn’t understand was it wasn’t the same street. By then, hungry was added to the list. It was well into lunchtime and he was hangry. It took some coaxing and reassurance that we knew a better way to the car before he agreed to go our way. I also let him take a few pictures with my camera…supervised hands-on of course.

Me: Obi-Wan! *camera ready* Obi-Wan: *stops & looks in my direction* Wha- Me: *snap* Obi-Wan: Why are you taking a picture of me?  Me: Because I love you!

Me: Obi-Wan! *camera ready*
Obi-Wan: *stops & looks in my direction* Wha-
Me: *snap*
Obi-Wan: Why are you taking a picture of me?
Me: Because I love you!

In the car I asked if he would eat cheese pizza because I knew I could have gluten-free pizza safely at Sammy’s Woodfired Pizza. He agreed, but when we arrived, Sammy’s was no more (they still have other locations, mostly in San Diego, North County, and Las Vegas). I panicked a little inside. We were on Day Three of Mommy and Daddy being at the hospital and he’d done so well, I didn’t know if this would be the one stressor to send him into a meltdown.

The dedicated gluten-free menu

The dedicated gluten-free menu

Luckily, with the help of the Find Me Gluten-Free app, I discovered another restaurant in the same center had a gluten-free menu, Daily Grill. AND they had Mac & Cheese as well as Fries on the Kids Menu. He was so hungry he wanted both. Not only did he polish of the Mac & Cheese, he ate a good portion of the Fries too. Good thing we ordered for him as soon as we sat down.

He demolished the Mac & Cheese and put a dent in the Fries.

He demolished the Mac & Cheese and put a dent in the Fries.

We were informed by our server that the restaurant just started a new menu that very day, so everything Chaz saw on his menu was different from the original. Not sure why he insisted on explaining since we told him it was our first time there. Turns out, the Gluten-Free Menu wasn’t reprinted and I wanted the Cedar Plank BBQ Salmon (because who doesn’t love Salmon cooked on a cedar plank?), which was no longer on the new menu (again, not printed). They still had some of the sauce and did the dish for me anyway. It was perfectly cooked. It came with a steamed stalk of broccoli. The whole stalk. I wasn’t fond of having to cut my broccoli off the stalk. And rice pilaf. The moist, tender salmon and delicious rice pilaf made up for the broccoli. NOTE: As of the day of this post, their Gluten-Free Menu is not updated on their website. If you are doing takeout, be diligent and ask more questions than usual. Daily Grill 5

Later in the week, Dawn wanted steak because she needed more iron. We ordered takeout from Daily Grill and the men picked it up. I ordered the New York Pepper Steak which came with mashed potatoes and had spinach mixed in like colcannon. They were good mashed potatoes, not great. But it’s not often I get to have mashed potatoes someone else makes. I thought it came with asparagus too, but I was wrong. Dawn and Chaz weren’t impressed with their asparagus. It did look wimpy. On the bright side, my steak was spot on medium.

At least something always hit the mark in our meals. Nothing hitting the mark would’ve been tragic on all fronts.

Leave a Reply

