Gluten-Free In A Gluten-Full Kitchen

Dawn's Kitchen 2Some of you are aware that I spent a week and a half in L.A. at Dawn’s for the birth of her baby, whom I’ll refer to as Mara Jade. Yes, another Star Wars nickname. It was only proper that she get one because Little Obi-Wan has one. If you’ve followed me for a while, you might remember the last visit Dawn bought new stainless steel pots and pans to limit cross-contact in the kitchen for me.

This time, the special was a tub of butter with “GF” in marker on the lid and my name written on the side. So we could cook with butter and not worry about cross-contact with butter everyone else uses.

Dawn's KitchenThe biggest thing I did for myself in the kitchen was take charge of the kitchen, especially once Dawn and her Old Man went to the hospital. I chased everyone out more than once. I made a habit of cleaning the counters before preparing any food, even if it was a PB&J for Little Obi-Wan. I would clean the counters again after I was done. I did have to call Chaz in the first night Little Obi-Wan wanted “pasta” (his word for spaghetti) because I forgot was regular pasta felt like while stirring it when it was done. The second time I did better. While cooking for him, there was a lot of hand washing.

There was also a lot of scrubbing food residue off before loading the dishwasher. Not something people normally think about where cross-contact can happen. Gluten not washing completely off dishes or being washed off and re-adhering before draining and drying to another dish, glass, or utensil.

Dawn's Kitchen 3I did goof once. Thankfully, it wasn’t with gluten. Little Obi-Wan wanted ice cream while we were at the grocery store picking up some things including Hot Wheels for him. Chaz and I were talking about ice cream sundaes and Little Obi-Wan insisted on the Hershey’s chocolate syrup in the can then asked us why we kept calling it “ice cream sundae”. After that, it was Ice Cream Monday. Because it was Monday. I wanted a topping for my ice cream, but everything had soy and/or high fructose corn syrup. So i just had plain vanilla ice cream. That night while making Little Obi-Wan’s ice cream, I wiped my finger around the rim of the syrup can then licked my finger. Oh, hi there corn! It was just a little bit but I did not make that mistake the rest of the time we were there. I immediately washed my hand after. This is what happens when you spend 99% of your time in your own allergy-free kitchen.

All that said, would I do this in everyone’s kitchen? No. I’ve blogged before that when I stay with friends I offer to cook or do the majority of the cooking to make sure meals are safe for me and help minimize any anxiety for my host. Being at your best friend’s is a completely different story, especially when she is at the hospital for four days.

 

Leave a Reply

