Cinnamon Bourbon Green Tea

Sri Lanka Tea at Ramsi's Cafe On The World

Sri Lanka Tea at Ramsi’s Cafe On The World

I realized I never actually blogged about the time we met up with Johnna and her favorite fella last August while they were in Louisville working at the Kentucky State Fair. I have no idea how that happened.

We met at Ramsi’s Café on the World in the Highlands area. Ramsi’s is one of my favorite choices because I know they can handle my multiple food allergies and intolerances. I know our server didn’t give Johnna a lot of confidence, but she was the exception. Every other server I’ve had there has been excellent. It’s also helpful I give them a written list to give to the kitchen.

I was so busy writing my list while she was taking drink orders that all it took for me to pay attention was for Johnna to say, “…with Basil Hayden.”

What was that?

She had ordered a Sri Lanka Tea, which sounded delicious when I read what it was on the menu and order the same. With Basil Hayden. Of course.

Me and Johnna. Together again at last!

Me and Johnna. Together again at last!

It was as delicious as it sounded and I vowed to recreate it.

We enjoyed some fresh tomatoes to start off. Johnna and her favorite fella also has the Desert Jewels. I couldn’t have dates at the time, but I am definitely giving them a try next time I’m there.

Cinnamon Bourbon Green Tea 3

I had a hard time deciding what I wanted and eventually chose the Fish Tacos.

Cinnamon Bourbon Green Tea 4

After all that good food, we set off on a walk up and down the Highlands. We peeked in shop windows and stopped at a couple of places for a drink. Even got into an educational discussion with a server about how Omission beer technically isn’t gluten-free. Yes, we did.

All too soon, it was time for us to drive back to Cincinnati and long for our next meeting. Which I’m happy to say is coming up soon!

Since then, I’ve been working on that Sri Lanka Tea. I always get close but never where I want it. Either I let the tea cold brew too long or there wasn’t enough cinnamon. Or I thought there was enough cinnamon but couldn’t taste it once the bourbon was added.

I finally hit the mark and had to text the picture to Johnna. That’s how ecstatic I was. Trust me, this is tasty. It’s not a heavy cocktail. It’s fairly light. Also, I’m sure Ramsi’s probably used a simple syrup in our drinks, but there is no added sugar in this.

Cinnamon Bourbon Green Tea

Cinnamon Bourbon Green Tea

1 gallon filtered water

2 green tea bags (I used decaf)

8 cinnamon sticks, plus more for garnish if desired

Bourbon (I used Basil  Hayden)

Ice

Fill a pitcher with water and add the tea bags and cinnamon sticks. Let it cold brew for one hour. Remove the tea bags. Leave the cinnamon sticks in for at least another hour, longer for stronger cinnamon taste. Remove the cinnamon sticks and fill a drinking glass (fourteen to sixteen ounce glass) with ice. Pour in one ounce of bourbon then pour the tea over, filling the rest of the glass. Garnish with a cinnamon stick and serve.

 

 

3 comments

  1. Wow, that is an amazing photo of your drink, Debi! Thanks so much for sharing your time with Johnna, and I love seeing the photo of you both. It sounds like a wonderful time, of course. I always learn new food/drink tricks from Johnna, too. 😉 I’d be envious about your upcoming visit, but I did get to see her in April, although it seems like forever ago now. Hopefully, the next gfe retreat will be on a different schedule and she’ll be able to be with us!

    Happy weekend!
    Shirley

    • Thanks, Shirley! I have one more recipe to play with before I see her. It may or may not happen. lol Yes, it’s definitely not the same without her there. Still fun, but not not the same. 🙂

      • Aw, I miss you girls both!
        I can’t wait to make this! I bought cinnamon sticks just for this. Although it won’t be the same if you aren’t here to share with me. Soon…


Leave a Reply

