Liquid Bourbon Ball

Liquid Bourbon BallI sent the manuscript I’ve worked on for the last fifteen years to my first reader. I needed to celebrate. It’s fifteen years of hard work, perseverance, walking away when it got too emotional for me, and overcoming the times I would look at it thinking it was complete shit.

This celebration called for something more than just a glass of wine. Nope. I needed something special

Enter: Liquid Bourbon Ball.

Living in Kentucky for thirteen years, I developed a liking for bourbon. Quality bourbon. Not the cheap stuff that tastes like fire water. I like my bourbon to have a hint of sweet caramel not varnish. If you’re wondering what I would use, here you go: Basil Hayden, Woodford Reserve, Wild Turkey, Knob Creek, and Four Roses, to name a few.

I started making Liquid Bourbon Balls with my friends at a yearly Derby party. It was a big hit. Who needs a mint julep anyway?

The key to this drink is the quality of the bourbon. No turpentine allowed.

Liquid Bourbon Ball

2 ounces bourbon

2 ounces creme de cacao

2 ounces hazelnut liqueur

caramel sauce

ice

Place 3-4 ice cubes in a cocktail shaker. Pour liquids over the ice. Cover and shake well. In an old-fashioned glass, drizzle caramel around the side of the glass. Strain cocktail into the glass and enjoy.

7 comments

  1. Wow, Debi, that is a HUGE, HUGE, HUGE accomplishment! Congratulations, dear! And your celebratory drink looks and sounds amazing! I just love the caramel swirl effect. 🙂 We’ll have to have another celebration of sort with “the girls” when you visit in August. 😉

    xo,
    Shirley

    • Thank you, Shirley! The caramel swirl is definitely the fun part of it. 😀 I think we should celebrate with your famous Crab Claws! hehehe Maybe by then my beta readers will have it. 😀

    • Just make sure you sip it! And thanks. I know have some fixing to do, but her quick sneak peek wasn’t as quick as she thought it would be. At least I know I did something right to start. 🙂


Leave a Reply

