Dairy-Free Corn Chowder

Corn ChowderComfort food is different for everyone. A couple of months ago, my cousin posted a picture on Instagram of her Corn Chowder. Then it hit me, I had not made it in a long time. Probably because it is a cream based soup and I avoid cannot have dairy. I decided I wanted corn chowder and the lack of dairy was not going to stop me.

If you have not had corn chowder before, think New England clam chowder. Sometimes I think, where’s the clams, when I eat it. It is always a great thing to make a big pot of to have leftovers for later, which is how I cooked when I was in college and living on my own. I would not have to cook for days.

As this publishes, I am on my way to a small family reunion with my dad’s side of the family. While my cousin will not be there, her mom will be and I love her to death. She’s like a big sister, auntie, and mother all rolled into one.

I made this soup with several different coconut milk/creamer combinations. I am confident that it will also work with MimicCreme. I also added Butternut or Delicata squash in several of the experiments to up the vegetable factor. This is purely optional. I also went back and forth between fresh corn off the cob and canned corn. It tasted better with the fresh corn, but most people use canned corn which works just as well.

Corn Chowder – serves 4-6

2 ears corn, kernels removed, cob reserved OR 2 cans sweet corn OR 1 can sweet corn and 1 can creamed corn (do not drain the canned corn)

1 large leek OR 2 medium leeks OR 3 small leeks, quartered and sliced

12 ounces bacon chopped

2 Russet potatoes OR 1 pound gold/red/blue potatoes, diced

2 cups diced Butternut or Delicata squash (optional)

1 teaspoon dried thyme OR 1 tablespoon fresh thyme

Salt to taste

2 teaspoons ground white pepper

1 pint So Delicious coconut creamer and 11 oz. So Delicious Culinary coconut milk OR 2 pints So Delicious coconut creamer OR 1 pint So Delicious coconut creamer and 1 can light coconut milk

Heat a large pot over medium and add bacon. Stir until the bacon sweats. Stir in leeks and let cook for about five minutes. Add corn, potatoes, and squash (if using). If using canned corn, include the liquid. Add salt and white pepper and stir well. Cook for one minute. Add coconut creamer and milk. Lower heat and simmer for an hour until potatoes are cooked through.

Leave a Reply

