Scallops with Creamy Garlic Veg Sauce

Scallops with Creamy Garlic Veg SauceI found my rhythm for making sure I was posting here and Chocolate Wasteland at least once a week months ago. That rhythm may change. I find myself writing fiction more and more. I still have inspiration in the kitchen and a long list of things ideas to work on. I work on them one by one and find myself wondering what I’m doing wrong when I have flop after flop. Have I lost my mojo? Have I lost my passion? Neither. My head isn’t in the game. Because while I’m painstakingly measuring and checking ingredients and writing it all down, my brain is writing dialogue and scene descriptions. Distractions like that lead to forgetting to add sugar to the pancake mix and winding up with a super dry pancake.

*Waves hand in front of your face* You did not read about pancakes just now.

My email inbox is nearly at 600 unread emails and that is after clearing out the junk emails. I am behind on reading my friends’ blogs and commenting then sharing them. I don’t feel like wading through my Twitter or Facebook feeds. There are a few pages I check regularly then I’m off.

I tell you all this because there may come a day when I’m posting more on Chocolate Wasteland than here. My Facebook blog page and Twitter may change as things shift for me. Heck, this blog may change and I may just put both blogs under one webpage that is all mine.

Why am I sharing this now and not later? Because I know things will change. They always do. Life is about change and rolling with tide when it comes along. I’ve always apologized in the past for absences on social media or here because life got in the way. I did so because I felt a duty to you as my reader even if I started this blog for myself. Somewhere along the way it became more about you. We are taught to know our audience as writers. However, we writers always end up writing for ourselves.

I tweeted once that we all use social media differently to share our posts and promote ourselves. I’m not good at pimping myself out. I’m not an attention whore. I’m not one who likes to jump up and down yelling, “LOOK AT ME!” I can’t share the same post multiple times a day for several days to make sure everyone sees it. If you want to read it, I know you will. If you really want to know what’s going on, you’ll have an email subscription.

I am going forward with my head in my fictional worlds I have created while working on kitchen experiments. If I miss a week or two I know it will be okay. I know everyone understands following their dreams and I’m chasing mine while I have this opportunity.

The recipe I’m sharing today is one I created while on the Autoimmune Paleo Protocol. I used spaghetti squash, but making zucchini noodles or gluten-free pasta (if you want grains) would work. Omit the scallops if you want to make this vegan. Or change it up and use shrimp instead. If you do use scallops, make sure you do not let them cook longer than I indicate in the recipe or they will be overcooked and tough. They should be tender if prepared as instructed.

Scallops with Cream Garlic Veg Sauce – serves 4

1 spaghetti squash, baked or slow cooked

1 pound scallops (omit if you want to make it vegan)

Salt

Olive oil

2 heads broccoli, chopped (including stalks)

2 small – medium zucchini, chopped

3 garlic cloves

1 cup chopped parsley

1 avocado chopped

Juice of 1/2 lemon

Place scallops on a plate or platter and season both sides with salt. Set aside and let them come to room temperature. Bring a medium pot of water to boil and salt (1-2 tablespoons). Add broccoli for 4-5 minutes. Drain and set aside. Add zucchini, garlic, parsley, avocado, lemon juice, salt to taste, and 3-4 tablespoons olive oil to a blender or food processor. Blend/process well, adding more olive oil a little at a time if needed. Set aside. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add enough olive oil to coat the bottom of the skillet. Carefully add the scallops. Once they are all in let them go for a minute then start turning them starting with the first one you put in. Let it go another minute when you are done turning then remove them from heat. Cut open your spaghetti squash in half lengthwise, scoop out the seeds, then use a fork to pull the strands off the skin. To serve, add spaghetti squash to a plate or bowl, top with the sauce then the scallops, and arrange broccoli around the edge. Garnish with chopped parsley if desired.

Leave a Reply

