Pumpkin Maple Bacon Pancakes

Pumpkin Maple Bacon PancakesI love pancakes.

Pancakes love me.

We go way back, me and pancakes.

We parted ways for a while after I had to ditch gluten. I needed an adjustment period as I learned different ways of doing things.

I welcomed pancakes back when I started following blogs of people who had been gluten-free longer than I and knew what they were doing. It was the same, but not. Yet I still love pancakes and pancakes love me.

I could have pancakes every day but part of the love affair with pancakes is that I have them every once in a while. You know, absence makes the heart grow fonder and all that.

I started playing around with my own recipe last year and floundered. Then I got sick and stopped.

Pumpkin season started and I realized this was a perfect time to start again. I tossed the old recipe and started from scratch using Michael Ruhlman’s Ratio as a guideline. I don’t use the same ratios as he does for his pancakes, but it still works. They bubble on the griddle, get dry around the edges, and they turn out fluffy. Just like I remember gluten full pancakes to be.

I used quinoa flour for these because rice flour wasn’t working the way I wanted it to. If you’ve worked with quinoa flour and you’re wrinkling your nose un-wrinkle it right now. When I was recipe testing for Brittany Angell and Iris Higgins for their Essential Gluten-Free Baking Guides Part 1 & 2, Brittany developed a clever way to dampen the bitterness of quinoa flour and now she has it on her blog for everyone. I do this whenever I buy a new bag of quinoa flour and I store it in the freezer. It is the only flour I keep in there and it confuses Chaz. He asks what it is every time he sees it. Every. Time.

I use a combination of the pumpkin puree and baking soda plus apple cider vinegar to replace the eggs. Do not try to leave out one or the other or your texture will be completely off. The pumpkin puree makes it moist and the baking soda with apple cider vinegar helps to leaven it.

If you happen to have leftovers, reheat them in a covered pan in the oven at 250°. They will be even fluffier.

Pumpkin Maple Bacon Pancakes – makes about 8 pancakes

4 slices of bacon, fat rendered and reserved, crumbled

2/3 cup quinoa flour

1/3 cup tapioca flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup dairy-free milk

6 tablespoons pure maple syrup (Grade B)

6 tablespoons pumpkin puree

2 tablespoons reserved bacon fat

2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

Set your griddle over medium heat and allow it to warm up while mixing your batter. Mix together quinoa flour, tapioca flour, baking soda, and salt in a small mixing bowl. Set aside. Mix together dairy-free milk, maple syrup, pumpkin puree, bacon fat (use fat that you reserved from your bacon), and apple cider vinegar in another small bowl. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry and mix well. Add bacon fat to the griddle and coat the surface. Drop batter using 1/4 cup measuring cup (or 1/4 cup ice cream scoop). Add some bacon crumbles to the top. The batter will bubble as it cooks. Flip the pancakes once the edges look dried out. Cook at least 3 more minutes then remove to a plate. Add more bacon fat to the griddle if you feel it needs it before adding more batter to it. Serve with additional bacon crumbles on top and with maple syrup.

6 comments


Leave a Reply

