Pumpkin Millet Porridge with Fresh Figs

Pumpkin PorridgeIf you don’t follow me on Facebook or Twitter then let me preface this by saying Pumpkin Palooza is going on in my kitchen. What I truly love about eating as seasonally as I can is that by the time pumpkins show up in the grocery store, I am ready.

This porridge does not need the figs. I saw them in Whole Foods one day looking so plump and ripe that I was compelled to pick some up despite not having them for ten months thanks to adrenal fatigue. High potassium fruits like figs, dates, and bananas are recommended to be avoided. Along with dried fruit. Coffee is another no-no for those of us with adrenal fatigue, but I’ve been tolerating it without the heart palpitations so I decided trying fresh figs would be a good next step. No reaction.

Oh, figs. How I have missed thee.

I did not try this with dried figs but if you’d rather use dried figs, use less. And if you don’t like figs, omit them. I’ve made this without the figs and it is just fine without them. Also, if you can, keep the maple syrup. It pairs better with the pumpkin.

Pumpkin Millet Porridge with Fresh Figs – serves 1

1/4 cup millet

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

3/4 cup dairy-free milk

2 tablespoons pure maple syrup

4 figs, chopped

Combine all ingredients except the figs in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil then lower heat. Simmer and stir occasionally. Remove from heat once the millet absorbs the liquid to a creamy consistency. Stir in figs and cover for five to ten minutes before eating.

This post is linked to Wellness Weekend at Ricki Heller and Whole Food Fridays at Allergy-Free Alaska.

8 comments

  1. This sounds so good, Debi. I must make this! I got rid of all of my grains before moving. Most of them were old and unnecessary anyway. I will definitely need to pick up a package of millet to make this! So simple and sounds wonderful.


Leave a Reply

