Cherry Peach Ginger Crisp

Cherry Peach Ginger CrispI returned from a week and a half away spent with friends this past Sunday. While I would love to tell you all about it, this post isn’t the time for it and one post would be too long. I’ll spread it out into several posts here and at Chocolate Wasteland.

It took me awhile to get this recipe right. Probably because I kept making a big dessert dish which I had to finish off myself before trying again. I finally realized I should be doing this single serving size. This makes it not only easy to make this when you just want a little something without the lure of leftovers. It also makes it easy to double/triple/quadruple/etc for your dessert needs.

I used frozen fruit for this recipe. I had every intention of using fresh fruit, but the timing of the fruit and the timing of being able to test didn’t work out for me. I had to freeze everything before it started to go bad. Besides, if you freeze your own fruit from the Summer, you can make treats like this in the middle of Winter and feel like it is Summer again. I do it because I find it cheaper to freeze my own fresh fruit than buy it in the frozen foods section. You could use fresh fruit for this, but the baking time will be shorter and you will have to keep an eye on it.  I tried various toppings other than gluten-free oats and the oats just turned out the best for me.

Cherry Peach Ginger Crisp – serves one

8 peach segments, frozen (should equal one peach)

8 cherries, pitted & frozen

1  teaspoon Ginger Spread

1/4 cup certified gluten-free oats

1 tablespoon raw local honey or pure maple syrup (or liquid sweetener of choice)

Preheat oven to 375º. In an individual baking ramekin/dish, add the peaches, cherries, and Ginger Spread then toss to incorporate the Ginger Spread. Add the oats and sweetener to a small bowl and mix well. Spread sweetened oats over the fruit. Bake for 40-45 minutes.

2 comments


Leave a Reply

