Lemongrass Ginger Salmon With Mango Mint Salsa

My favorite beach

My favorite beach

I miss home. I miss my family. I miss my friends. I miss the food. I miss the tradewinds. I miss the beach. I miss the vibrant colors. It’s been over a year since my last trip home and I am due for a visit. But it won’t happen until next year at least. Thank goodness for our upcoming family reunion in Vegas. Until then, the only thing I can do is make food that reminds me of home.

This recipe can be used with shrimp, too. My first attempt was actually with shrimp on skewers using my indoor grill. I’ve been too tired to peel and de-vein shrimp lately so I went with salmon instead. Who doesn’t love salmon? The Mango Mint Salsa is my new favorite thing. I ate the leftovers for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.Lemongrass Ginger Salmon with Mango Salsa

Lemongrass Salmon – Serves 4 

1 – 1 1/2 pounds wild caught salmon fillet cut into individual servings.

1 mango, large dice

1/4 red chili pepper, large dice (set remainder aside for salsa)

1″ piece of ginger, minced

2 lemongrass stalks, 1 halved and the other rough chopped

salt

Season salmon fillets with salt and set aside. In a high quality blender or a food processor, place mango, chili pepper, ginger, rough chopped lemongrass, and a pinch of salt. Blend until smooth. Place salmon in a bowl and cover well with the marinade. Marinate at least 2 hours or up to 24 hours. Preheat oven to 200º. Wipe off some of the marinade (but not all) and place fillets on a baking sheet or pan. Place halved lemongrass over the fillets, cut side down. Bake for 20 – 30 minutes, longer for well-done. Serve with Mango Mint Salsa.

Mango Mint Salsa – serves 6

2 mangoes, diced

reserved 3/4 red chili pepper from the salmon, diced

1/2 red onion, diced

1/4 cup mint leaves, rough chop

salt

Place all ingredients in a mixing bowl and mix well. Refrigerate until ready to serve. Salsa tastes better if you make it earlier in the day and let the flavors sit for a few hours.

This post is linked to Whole Food Fridays at Allergy-Free Alaska. 

3 comments

  1. Ooooo!! This sounds really good!!! Can’t wait to try! Funny you should say “Who doesn’t love salmon?” My husband! I just think he’s never given it a fair try;) Julie Frey

    Date: Thu, 18 Jul 2013 08:05:17 +0000 To: jjdmfrey@hotmail.com

  2. Pingback: Mango Mint Fruit Bars «


Leave a Reply

