Annie May’s Sweet Cafe

Annie's 1This is a post I should have written months ago. I was thinking about why I didn’t and I remembered I wanted to wait for my birthday. Chaz was supposed to order a cake for me for my birthday last year. Notice the use of “supposed to.”

I first heard about Annie May’s Sweet Cafe last August from Jessica at Allergic to Air after spending an evening with Johnna (In Johnna’s Kitchen) and her favorite fella in Louisville because they were there working at the Kentucky State Fair. Annie May’s is a gluten-free, nut-free, and soy-free bakery. I texted Johnna as soon as Jessica told me about the bakery. Johnna was there the next day indulging in lunch and treats, including funnel cake. Yes, funnel cake.

It was a few weeks before we were back in Louisville and I was finally able to indulge. “One of everything please!” It wasn’t quite one of everything, but it was darn close. There was quite a bit to choose from and it was weeks since our trip to Sensitive Sweets in Fountain Valley, CA.Annie's 2

Vegan Vanilla Cupcake, Vegan Classic Cupcake, Vegan Oatmeal Cream Pie, Vegan Chocolate Balls, and a Vegan Sugar Cookie. I wasn’t as fond of the vanilla cupcake and sugar cookie as I was of the classic cupcake and the oatmeal cream pie. The classic cupcake is a like a Hostess cupcake with a creamy filling in the middle. I was in heaven. As Chaz put it, the oatmeal cream pie put Little Debbie to shame. They were his favorite Little Debbie treats while mine were the Swiss Cake Rolls and Nutty Bars. I always had a stash of them hidden somewhere so Chaz wouldn’t eat them all. The oatmeal cream pie is very sweet and very large. We split it and I still felt like I was on sugar overload just from half.

Annie's 3SIL recently tried the oatmeal cream pie when she went to get me a cupcake a week ago and said she couldn’t finish hers either because it was so sweet. If you manage to get one, make sure you either have someone to share it with or can keep it to eat the rest later.

SIL made the trip to Annie May’s to get me a vegan cupcake at my request so I would have dessert while everyone else had regular cake and ice cream at a birthday party. I really shouldn’t have had the cupcake because it was Chocolate Sunbutter, but I ate it anyway. It was the last vegan cupcake they had and I neglected to tell SIL that I couldn’t have sunflower seeds. Next time, I need to remember to call them ahead of time and special order a cupcake. But we were invited to the party a week before and my brain was focused on birthday presents for the two-year old. Clothes, books, and blocks. OH MY! Annie's 4

We were back in Louisville Saturday because Chaz’s cousin and her husband were in town for a visit. We were trying to figure out how long it had been since we saw them. His cousin thinks 3 1/2 years. I think it was longer. We saw all the extended in-laws for the second weekend in a row (this is where I REALLY love being unemployed) and had a great lunch at a restaurant in town.

Chaz took me Annie May’s before we left town and my intention was to get one treat. ONE. It turned into another, I’ll have one of everything, please! Well, almost one of everything. There were a couple of non-vegan treats that were off-limits for me. Chaz decided we should stay and have our Supercookies. I had the large chocolate and he had the classic (vanilla) along with a small chocolate. One of the girls in the family that was sitting next to us cooed, “Look! They got the Supercookies!” Meanwhile, the dad was eyeing me in a super creepy manner. The Chocolate Supercookies were good. Chaz called them rich. It was super sweet like the oatmeal cream pie and made me want to have a cup of coffee with it. It didn’t stop me from finishing it.

Annie's 5I brought home the Chocolate Mocha Whoopie Pie and the Chocolate Mocha Raspberry Bar.  I managed not to eat them all on the way home or even that night. I saved them from breakfast the last two days. The whoopie pie was soft and the filling just sweet enough. The bar was packed full of raspberry goodness in the middle.

I definitely should not have indulged with all my new allergies and intolerances, but it’s not a regular occurrence nor will it be.

Tip Cups

Tip Cups

Bakeries catering to those of us with multiple food allergies are few and far between. I have no options in Cincinnati as the gluten-free “bakeries” are just gluten-free and don’t cater to other food allergies. If you’re in Louisville, check out Annie May’s Sweet Cafe for a great allergy-free treat.

2 comments

  1. Love love love this place! So glad you helped me find it. I, too, am guilty of the “let’s grab one treat” thinking…and leaving with a box full of goodies. Can’t wait to visit there again.

    • It’s like something new every time you go in! I just saw on FB that they aren’t going to carry their ice cream anymore. Not enough storage space and electrical for it. Bummer!


Leave a Reply

