Gluten-free Kal-bi Jerky

Gluten-free Kal-bi Jerky

Gluten-free Kal-bi Jerky

The recipes I have for you are piling up and but I’ve kept my nose to the keyboard working on posts for Chocolate Wasteland because I feel compelled to tell a story that keeps pouring out. Much of this week was spent laying it all out as much and as fast as I could and editing it all daily. It feels really good to be able to sit and write like I used to without worrying about time constraints. Other than making sure dinner is ready at a reasonable time.

If you keep up with me on here, you know after recent testing I made more changes to my diet. The more I learn about yeast allergy/intolerance the more I learn that I need to follow an anti-candida diet (ACD). Some of the recipes I’ll be sharing with you won’t fall under the new changes to my diet but I’m sharing them anyway because of all the time I put into developing them. Besides, not all of you have to eat like I do.

I started making beef jerky last year. It came in handy while traveling to make sure I had a good source of protein on the plane or in the car. One day while making it I realized that I could make it Korean style. I absolutely love kal-bi and nearly lived off of it when I could get it back home. These days I make it once to twice a year because I cannot get Korean style short ribs unless I get them from the Asian market where the beef is not grass-fed.

I finally started messing with my idea and was rewarded with kal-bi nirvana. Gluten-free style! Just don’t eat it all at once. You’ll have a sore tummy. And you might burp a lot. No, it didn’t happen to me.  Really.  *whistling*

Gluten-free Kal-bi Jerky

2 pounds London Broil sliced 1/4″ thick against the grain (your butcher can do this for you)

1/2 cup gluten-free tamari, liquid aminos, or coconut aminos

1/2 cup sherry

1/2 cup Grade B maple syrup

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 ground ginger

pinch of chili flakes

In a medium to large bowl, mix the gf tamari, sherry, maple syrup, garlic powder, and ground ginger. Add the beef and coat it well with the marinade. Or you can place the sliced beef in a large Ziploc bag and pour the marinade over it. Let the beef marinate for a minimum of 24 hours and a maximum of 3 days. Lay the strips out on your dehydrator trays and set your temperature to 180. Let the dehydrator run for 8 hours and rotate your trays every 2 hours.

This post is linked to Slightly Indulgent Tuesday at Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free and Gluten-Free Wednesdays at The Gluten-Free Homemaker. 

4 comments


Leave a Reply

