Going Outside The Box

PathThe raging itchiness from late last Summer caused by eggs returned a few months ago. I tried removing everything I could think of to see if there were any changes and no such luck. I finally got tired of the guessing game and started talking to my integrative doctor. She had me up my Omega intake and we discussed the possibility of Advanced Allergy Therapeutics (AAT). The itchiness went up Super Bowl Sunday. A few days later, it was jacked up again after making the Meyer Lemon Lavender Bars.

The connection I made between those days was the citrus. I tried to cut citrus out but everywhere I turned, there it was in its many different forms. You think cutting gluten or dairy or eggs out is bad? Try cutting out citrus. Aiya.

I knew beyond a doubt that a leaky gut was driving this.  I had to find out what was triggering the skin reaction because the constant itching and scratching was driving me insane at bedtime. It seemed to ramp up as I was trying to sleep. I also knew if I couldn’t heal my gut and alleviate what was going on in my body it would keep me in a state of low adrenal fatigue. My doctor did a blood draw at the end of my last visit three weeks ago for an IgG and IgA. They received the results last week and were able to squeeze me in with a naturopath on Monday to go over them.

My IgG results were high on a few things that were surprising and some that just confirmed what I already knew. This also confirmed that I definitely do have a leaky gut. I had high elevations for banana, pineapple, and chicken eggs, and low elevations for milk, goat milk, whey, duck eggs, baker’s and brewer’s yeast, cranberry, crab, gliadin, gluten, peanut, sesame seed, and whole wheat.  IgA results were high for crab and low for gliadin, gluten, peanut, rye, sunflower seed, whole wheat, and baker’s and brewer’s yeast.

Are you overwhelmed just reading all that? Don’t be. I’m not.

The naturopath suspected high levels of histamine in my body with all the itchiness going on.  But because of already being on what they call a “hypoallergenic” diet and the results of the blood tests, she wanted to focus on healing my gut but not make it worse for me by putting me on the wrong path.

Exit the box.

Enter a different world.

She sent me for AAT. She said to be prepared for the weird.

I get weird.

I managed to get an appointment for my first AAT the next day. Thankfully, the naturopath informed the chiropractor in the office who does the AAT testing and treatments that I’m already on hypoallergenic diet. He explained how our brains will decide that something that is natural and part of our food is “abnormal,” like minerals naturally found in our water, or natural food preservatives in our produce. AAT works to reprogram the brain and help de-stress the organ systems in the body affected by the constant state of abnormalness. It doesn’t always work, but from what I experienced yesterday, I am now a believer.

I was hooked up to the computer with a band around my arm. It sent electrical signals to my body to mimic the various foods and environmental products. I was lying on a bed and using kinesiology with these signals, the chiropractor had me raise my other arm in the air and hold it as the signal was sent and he tried to pull my arm down. His ability to pull my arm down is the response from my brain thinking it is abnormal. The control signal to show me what abnormal felt like is snake venom. SNAKE VENOM! Good thing we’re dealing with electrical signals and not the real deal.

On a whole, my brain thinks the following are abnormal:

  • Beans
  • Calcium
  • Corn
  • Dairy
  • Eggs
  • Food Preservatives (including naturally occurring)
  • Grains
  • Minerals
  • Salts/Chlorides
  • Sugars
  • Vitamin A
  • Yeast
  • Carpet
  • Insulation
  • Cleaning Products
  • Personal Care Products
  • Cosmetics
  • Grass
  • Flowers
  • Mildew
  • Fungus
  • Sinus Fungus
  • Dust/Dust Mites
  • Cats
  • Dogs
  • Cockroaches
  • Sinus Biosubstances

Everything I listed for the blood tests are things I most definitely need to avoid to heal my gut. I am already avoiding gluten, dairy, and eggs. I have not had bananas or any other high potassium fruit since the adrenal fatigue diagnosis. I rarely have crab, pineapple, and cranberries. The challenge will be yeast, sunflower seeds, and sesame seeds. This means no more using nutritional yeast as my cheesy replacement.

Everything from the AAT testing not on the blood tests are things that will be reprogrammed. He did my first treatment after the testing on the sugars. He tested me for the individual sugars and came up with eleven different sugars my brain thinks is abnormal – cane sugar, corn sugar, corn syrup solids, grape sugar, fructose, glucose, sucrose, lactase, molasses, stevia, and one more I can’t remember. He went ahead and treated me for the sugars yesterday when we were done with testing since I agreed I could not eat for four hours after. It was mid-afternoon and normally he instructs patients to not eat for two hours after treatment and to avoid the food for twenty-four hours.  However, sugars and minerals are unavoidable so he doubles the no eating time for to help the new “learning” go from short-term memory to long-term memory.

The actual treatment involved stimulating the acupuncture points along my spine while doing controlled breathing for each individual sugar as the signal is being sent to my body. The stimulation also helps calm the body systems being overworked. In my case with the sugars, all my organs were in a state of stress.

It sounds weird, new age-ish, and/or something akin to voodoo. I don’t know. All I know is at the end of the treatment when he retested for each individual sugar my brain was accepting them as normal. Sometimes when all avenues are exhausted you have to take an unknown trail and blaze it. 

I am blazing my trail without an ounce of frustration or sorrow for what I leave behind.

7 comments

  1. I’ve had something similar done before with NAET and kinesiology and I do believe in it. In fact, I did one form of NAET last week to burn up some of my FSA money and lessen my reactions to gluten and dairy. I didn’t do a full battery, just tested a few things. I still believe that I have many of the issues that you cited in your listing. With NAET, the treatment doesn’t last forever, but it can, potentially, last for a long time. I hope this AAT makes a huge difference for you, Debi!

    Shirley

    • It already has! Last night was the first night in months that I wasn’t scratching myself raw as I was trying to get to sleep! Some itchiness, but nothing on the level as it has been. I’m really looking forward to my next treatment now! 😀

  2. Glad it’s helping, but go even deeper with AAT if you can afford it and need it. It is extremely helpful to some…although it can be like searching for a needle in a haystack, for the things that will actually relate to prompting your symptoms. We have had amazing success easing many old-age symptoms in my father (who otherwise suffers serious vascular dementia), giving him frequent treatments. My brother’s own research on behalf of his own symptoms led to his practioner’s testing of him and my father in some of these areas: first, digestive substances (of basic importance), neurotransmitters and hormones, areas of the brain (helpful to my father)and any other organs, the spinal column itself, and on and on. My brother, whose fibromyalgia started years ago the day after spinal surgery, was treated for a sensitivity to ‘surgical steel’–with that treatment bringing a significant reduction of fibromyalgia pain.
    A supplement tip for some: my brother recently learned of two people experiencing very significant relief of rheumatoid arthritis with the taking of Black (cumin) Seed Oil. He tried it, with a resulting cure of the chronic migraines he had suffered with for many years!
    Consider NT Factors also, which seem to ease my own tendencies to chronic fatigue and weakness. Yes, what a battle, the diet…you have my great sympathy. And, I fear this immune/autoimmune sickness will become epidemic.

  3. Consider having your endocrine glands and substances checked by AAT. Thyroid…adrenaline…pituitary gland, etc. You could look at heavy metals, fluoride, chlorine… yeasts, fungi, candida…
    I’ve learned that there are actually thousands of things treatable by AAT which could be causing some inflammatory response in us. Initial investment in the equipment is $30,000…so it’s no surprise that there aren’t many health practitioners using it yet. Mysterious and awesome as its effect can be, it doesn’t appear to me to be anything new-agey…which basically means the practioner him/herself would be trying to generate some kind of personal power, or the ‘channeling’ of power…

    Mary

  4. I get that awful itching too, and it’s so bad at night! I’m very interested in hearing how this works for you. It’s been recommended to me a few times but not something I can invest in right now. But I’m really hoping it works for you! (Both for your sake and because it would give me hope!)

    • My doctor actually tried to get me to do it for my mold, dust mite, cat, dog, and seasonal allergies when I first started to see her 2 years ago. I felt it wasn’t necessary at the time and wanted to use the money I was making to go towards debt. Now it IS necessary and like I mentioned to Shirley, last night was the first night in months I wasn’t scratching myself raw. So far, so good!

  5. Pingback: Gluten-free Kal-bi Jerky |


Leave a Reply

