Legoland

Two months later and I’m still sharing about our vacation to California.  I know.  But if you read my post before last, you know why I haven’t posted much.  I have only two more posts to share with you and then I need to share some reviews.  They are sorely overdue!  I know my Twin is chomping at the bit for one of the reviews.  They will get done!  Eventually.

It's the great pumpkin, Charlie Brown!

It’s the great pumpkin, Charlie Brown!

Our last day down South was spent with Dawn, Little Obi Wan, and Dawn’s mom (whom I call Mom and for those of you who don’t know, if you see me use ‘Mom’ that’s who I’m referring to) at Legoland.  We packed up, checked out of the hotel, and went to finally see Mom and drag her off to Legoland.  Not that she needed dragging, mind you.  She went happily.

Going for a train ride!

Going for a train ride!

Little Obi Wan was a bit hesitant to start of with.  It was a new place for him and he had no idea what he wanted to do.  We kind of just made a circuit through and wound up stopping where he wanted to stop.  Anything to do with trains, cars, fire trucks, and water and he was a happy kid.

This was where I saw him have the biggest meltdowns I’ve seen since his Autism diagnosis.  I know he had a couple we didn’t see between school and home, but Chaz and I were either out or at home reading while Dawn was picking him up when they happened.  Again, this was all new to him.  He was seeking sensory input and getting carried away with some of the water areas and the massive slide.

Playing with Savta after lunch

Playing with Savta after lunch

There was one water ride he and Dawn went on.  While she was trying to dry off after getting off the ride, he spotted a jungle gym with water that he had to go on.  He started walking off to where he thought the entrance was because he thought it was going to be like a ride entrance and I followed trying to get him to come back.  He wasn’t having it.  He managed to pull his hand out of mine and took off.

Holy shit!

Going for a ride with Uncle. If Uncle looks like he's sitting funny, he is. Little Obi Wan pulled the bar down before Chaz got in and he had to slide down. Then the ride attendant came by and pushed the bar down more into Chaz's lap.  Ouch.

Going for a ride with Uncle. If Uncle looks like he’s sitting funny, he is. Little Obi Wan pulled the bar down before Chaz got in and he had to slide down. Then the ride attendant came by and pushed the bar down more into Chaz’s lap. Ouch.

The responsible auntie that I am and former mental health professional kicked in to overdrive and as tired as I was, I chased him down (but not before he got through the handicapped entrance to a different ride) and dragged him back to where everyone was waiting.  Which happened to be the real entrance to the jungle gym.

For a kid with different wiring than ours, trying to tell him that he was going the wrong was futile.  He knows that he gets on rides through handicapped entrances with his guest assistance pass and in his mind, he was going the right way.

These are not the droids you're looking for.

These are not the droids you’re looking for.

There were also a couple of times he ignored Mommy.  He did not want to leave that jungle gym nor did he want to stop going doing the massive slide.  He can be a smart and sneaky bugger when he wants to be.  He was able to make it down the slide a few times before Dawn caught him.  After she finally got him out of the jungle gym we walked away with him screaming and were headed for Mini Legoland.  Some teenage girls turned their heads to see where the screaming was coming from and gave a little sneer.  Dawn was not happy and let them know it, “What? You’ve never heard a kid screaming before?”  Any guesses on how many of those looks she gets when she has him out and he has a meltdown?

Side salad without cheese or croutons because the fries weren't safe. You bet Chaz got me fries from a quick serve later on that were safe.

Side salad without cheese or croutons because the fries weren’t safe. You bet Chaz got me fries from a quick serve later on that were safe.

Dawn took him to the side to calm him down and the rest of us went on to check out Mini Legoland.  Star Wars Mini Legoland?  *singing* Awe-some!  The miniature cities were awesome, too.

Bunless burger (gf bun has egg in it) with bacon, avocado, red onion, lettuce, and tomato.  So yummy!

Bunless burger (gf bun has egg in it) with bacon, avocado, red onion, lettuce, and tomato. So yummy!

We eventually stopped for lunch.  The great thing about Legoland is that they are food allergy friendly.  Not all the quick serves are safe, but there seemed to be more that were safe than at Disney.  We did have a small problem with my lunch and it had to get sent back once, but they were very apologetic and double checked everything before re-making my lunch and bringing it to me.  If I remember correctly, they took my lunch off the bill, too.  I don’t expect any restaurant to do that when they mess up, but it is a mark of good management when they do that.

There were more rides and fun to be had after lunch.  Dawn and Chaz went on a crazy ride together.  It looked like a lot of fun and Little Obi Wan was begging to go on it even though it was an adult ride.

Getting hands-on

Getting hands-on

Little Obi Was was much happier in the afternoon.  While we were walking to the Aquarium before it closed he was doing his, “Stop” to us.  Well, Dawn decided to play and kept saying to him, “No, you stop.”  He finally said after a few back and forths, “You need to calm down, Mommy.”  I love that kid!

If you ever go to Legoland, adding the Aquarium to your ticket is well worth it.  You can take pictures as long as you have the flash off.  I discovered I was able to take better pictures with my camera phone than my DSLR.  I’m sure if I knew how to use my DSLR to its fullest that wouldn’t have been the case.

We left as the park was closing and took Mom back home.  Hard to say goodbye, but we’ll be visiting again.

Someone didn't let the camera focus before snapping the picture.  *cough* Chaz *cough*

Someone didn’t let the camera focus before snapping the picture. *cough* Chaz *cough*

 

 

Leave a Reply

