The Booker Award – My Five Favorite Books

My friend, Katie, decided to tag me with The Booker Award.  In Katie’s words, “The Booker is an award that’s passed from author to author (or blogger to blogger, or author to blogger, or… well, you get the idea), so that everyone can select and share their favorite five books.”  It was started by Amy Whelan of Youthful Yogini.

Katie is a Twitter friend and fellow writer.  You may have seen my tweets to her full of YouTube links.  We tend to share videos with each other of songs we love or great covers of songs we love, awesome collaborations, and exposing each other to music we haven’t heard before.  Then there are the video wars.  The wars where we share the most awful videos of the most dreadful songs.   You know the songs.  The ones that get stuck in your head despite your desire to forget the song ever existed.  Yes, those.  My tendency to give her the best of the worst has earned me the #evilwench title.  I wear it proud.

Aside from our tweeting antics, Katie is a very talented writer.  She does fabulous posts weekly that are either bits of life lessons, parts of the writing process, the role of books and characters in our lives, or a snippet of a story.  Her Little Blue Box story is great.  You know what they say about a woman scorned?  Exactly.  Okay, so the character isn’t over-the-top like you’d see on TV or the movies.  But it’s simple and gets the point across.  Fast.

What?  Enough about Katie and get to the books?

If I must.

This is truly a hard one for me.  I love books.  How do I pick just five of them to share with you as my favorite?  One of them was a no-brainer.  I’ve loved the book since I was in 7th grade and read it many times.  Can you spot it in the picture before I tell you about it?

My five favorite books

V by A.C. Crispin. There wasn’t really a “teen” genre when I was growing up.  I went from reading Judy Blume, Carolyn Keene, A.A. Milne, and Laura Ingalls Wilder straight to the likes of V, Shogun, and other adult novels.  This is where my love for sci-fi went from watching to reading.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read the book.  I lost count long ago.  In case you were wondering, I read it before watching the mini-series.

Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto.  First off, Banana Yoshimoto’s books are all translated into English from Japanese.  That makes the poignancy of her writing even more sublime.  You can see how small the book is.  She is proof that you don’t need a lot of words to get your point across.  And she gets them across sharply on any subject.  With Kitchen it is all about death and loss.  Keep tissues nearby if you decide to read it.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer.  I picked up this book at Barnes & Noble on a lark.  I already had what I wanted in my hand and was wandering the store as I usually do.  Just to see what’s out.  And there Cinder was.  Out.  Alone on a table.  I checked out the synopsis on the dust jacket and thought, why not?  I honestly didn’t expect to like it as much as I turned out to love it.  I adore twists on fairy tales, legends, and stories.  Gregory Maguire?  Love him for what he’s done with all the old childhood favorites.  Marissa Meyer?  I’m in love with what she did with Cinderella.  And sci-fi.  Yes.  She blended Cinderella with sci-fi.  My favorite fairy tale with my favorite reading genre.  She has a sequel due next year.  I’m anxiously awaiting the release.

Taliesin by Stephen R. Lawhead.  This is the first book in the Pendragon Cycle.  I picked it up before starting college and slowly read it my first semester between all the studying and all the partying.  It is the book that triggered the love for spins on tales, especially spins on King Arthur.  This book goes back before Arthur was born.  Back before Merlin was born.  It ties the legend of Merlin and King Arthur to Atlantis in a marvelous tale of beginnings, love, and loss.

House by Frank Peretti & Ted Dekker.  Car breaks down in the backwoods of nowhere and all the characters can find is one lone house.  But what is with the house?  Is it haunted?  Is it alive?  Are the owners crazy?  These are the questions that you ask yourself while reading and you don’t want to put the book down until your questions are answered.  Frank Peretti & Ted Dekker are master wordsmiths in supernatural thrillers in which there is always the subtext of God (but not always in your face), his love for us, and how we exercise our free will.

I purposefully did not choose any food related books because I have too many friends with cookbooks.  Can’t let them think I like one more than the other, because  that wouldn’t be true!

Happy now, Katie?

I am tagging four of my blogging friends:

Dawn of This Side of Typical – My best friend in real the real world and mother of my adorable nephew, Little Obi-Wan.

Laura of LMD Studio – My silly sissy and fellow creative soul.  She’s so awesome she designed my header and logo for the blog.

Hannah of Wayfaring Chocolate – I love reading about Hannah’s travels, chocolate indulgences, and her take on life.  I also happen to know she loves Laura Ingalls Wilder.

jillsmo of Yeah. Good Times. – Always ready for a glass of wine and always ready to draw pictures for her readers and friends.

6 comments

  1. Hard to think of 5 favorites – Leaves of Grass-Walt Whitman, Little Women-Louisa Mae Alcott, Dune-Frank Herbert, Crystal Singer-Anne McCaffrey,and The Hobbit-J.R.Tolkien.

  2. Talieson and the Pendragon Cycle! i haven’t thought of those books in forever! I loved them too!

    and yeah–i see you tagged me. I’ll get on it….sometime…

    • Right? He has this great new series out right now. Just picked up the third book. The Bright Empires. All about ley travel. A far cry from King Arthur, Robin Hood, and the crusades. 😀


Leave a Reply

