Accidents Can Happen Happily

Multi-purpose? Why, yes!

I just recently got over a rash that plagued me for nearly a week before I finally went to Urgent Care because I couldn’t figure out a cause for it and it wasn’t getting any better with topicals or Benadryl.  I was getting increasingly worried that I was experiencing a dermatitis herpetiformis explosion and needed medical intervention whether I wanted prescription medication or not.

I should preface this by mentioning that the last time I took prescription medication was 3 years ago when I was on Synthroid.  In fact, it’s just over 3 years that I discovered the Synthroid was making my symptoms of Hypothyroidism worse and not better.  I’m fairly loathe to take prescriptions now that I take much better care of myself.  I am not myself when it comes to taking prescription medication.  My years of taking Lyrica for idiopathic neuropathy is proof.  I was a walking zombie and friends commented on how I wasn’t myself.

So, before even taking Benadryl and using cortisone creams and all-natural creams, I tried making my own topical.  I made a lot of it because the rash was covering my shins, my arms around my elbows, and my hips/pelvic area.  This was probably the only thing that really helped, but walking around covered in this mix isn’t quite feasible.  I did sit in the tub with it on for about half an hour before washing it off and then throwing some gluten-free oat flour into some bath water.  It oatmeal soak helped, but not as much as I would have liked.

Oatmeal has avenanthramides and beta-glucan that give it the itch relief and anti-inflammatory properties.  Raw honey has anti-inflammatory properties and so does lavender.  Lavender and chamomile are also soothing and relaxing.  I needed that as the rash was stressing me out a bit.

I made a bit too much of this and was staring at the leftovers, wondering what to do with it.  I was thinking, thinking, thinking.  Then I remembered the aspirin mask I love to use is mostly honey.  Why not use this as a mask/exfoliant?  The results I’ve had with using this as a mask is super smooth skin.  Do not leave this on too long if using as a mask.  You will feel a bit drugged if you do because of the amount of essential oils.  I accidentally left it on too long one night while reading and felt like I was in a Benadryl stupor.

Skin Soothing Mask/Exfoliant

4 tablespoons gluten-free oat flour

2 tablespoons raw honey

10 drops lavender essential oil

10 drops roman chamomile essential oil

filtered water

Place oat flour and honey in a small bowl and mix well.  It will be quite pasty, but you want the honey and flour to be well incorporated.  Add essential oils and mix well.  Add a little water and mix again.  Keep adding water in very small amounts until you have an easily spreadable paste consistency.  Apply to face gently and either wash off right away or allow to dry for about 10 minutes.  No longer than 20 minutes.  You will have leftovers, so do not try to use this all at once.  Store leftovers in an airtight container.

What happened with my rash?  Well, after going over with her that I definitely haven’t changed soaps, laundry detergent, etc. or eaten anything I shouldn’t have, she called it contact dermatitis and put me on Methylprednisone.  I’m still not convinced that she was correct, but if it pops up again, I have a plan.  The meds helped calm everything down that first day and through the course of taking them, but I didn’t feel right (and yes, they were gluten-free) and even had to call off work one day because I was a bit light-headed and unfocused after taking them.

6 comments

  1. Oh, I’m so sorry to hear about this! “Mystery” ailments are so frustrating and, at times, very upsetting, particularly when your doctor/the hospital doesn’t seem to have a clue either. Fingers crossed for rash-disappearing soon! x

  2. Ack I’m sorry about your skin condition. I hope you solve the issue soon.

    My mom is just about completely weaned off of Lyrica. She was in a lot of pain, but now she is doing accupuncture, chirporactic, yoga, and uses the occasional muscle relaxer and naproxen. I’m so happy she is off of Lyrica. It made her so foggy she said. Words just went missing from her mind. That drug scared me.

    • Thanks! Yes, Lyrica is very scary. I feel like my life was just a haze while I was on it. I got off of it when I started seeing my former Naturopath for my tennis elbow. We got to talking about the idiopathic neuropathy, so he started treating that, too. Between session 2 and 3, I was off the oral meds and just used the pain patch. Then one day he used something on the scar that calmed the constant nerve buzzing right away. I asked him what it was. It was helichrysum essential oil (aka immortelle), which I use in my homemade tiger balm. He told me he never told me before about it event though he knew I was into aromatherapy because it is a very costly oil. I used that for quite a while and was able to go down in frequency of use until I was only using it when I needed it. Since I’ve been gf, it seems to have gone away for the most part. 😀

      Good luck to your mom! I hope she’s finding herself feeling more like her old self soon. 😀


Leave a Reply

