Mint Chocolate Chip Smoothie/Shake

Mint Chocolate Chip Smoothie

It seems like the food blogosphere is running rampant with posts on homemade Shamrock Shakes.  I think I may have had one from the Golden Arches many moons ago.  It obviously left a lasting impression on me since I don’t go running for one as soon as I see they are back like so many of my friends seem to do.

I’ve been playing around with a play on one of my favorite ice creams, mint chocolate chip. And it has to be the old-fashioned kind with the small slivers of chocolate that will melt between your tongue and the roof of your mouth while loads of mint ice cream surrounding it.  Not those giant chunks.  By the time you can get those giant to melt just a little, the mint ice cream is gone from the palate.  If you didn’t see this coming from me a mile away the you haven’t read my posts for my Raw Peppermint Mocha Truffle Cake and My Dairy-free Peppermint Mocha.

This smoothie/shake is pure indulgence while being subversively healthy.  Yes.  Healthy!  It can also be a relief from the hot days coming our way if you make it with a frozen banana or opt to be a little more indulgent than healthy and use ice cream instead. Not to mention how easy it is to get that mint chocolate fix taken care of without waiting once a year for the Girl Scout cookie sale.  Funny thing is the Thin Mints were never my favorite.  They were far off my radar.  I much preferred the peanut butter sandwich and the chocolate covered peanut butter cookie.  Speaking of Girl Scout Cookies, if you don’t subscribe to Easy Eats online magazine, now is a great time.  The current issue contains several gluten-free Girl Scout cookie adaptations.  Brittany also has a great gluten-free version of Samoas on her site.  Yes, I miss Girl Scout cookies this time of year.  Hard not to when I sold them for 12 years.

But I digress.

I used both mint leaves and peppermint extract for this recipe.  The mint leaves are good for your gastrointestinal tract, especially if you’re feeling a little queasy or your intestines are staging an Occupy Your Body protest. The peppermint extract gives it the mint flavor.  If I were to try to get the proper mint flavor with just the leaves, I think it would be a little too much for the gastrointestinal system.

Mint Chocolate Chip Smoothie/Shake

1 banana, room temp or frozen, and/or 1/2 cup dairy-free vanilla ice cream (or regular dairy if you are not dairy-free)

half handful spinach or other mild greens

mint leaves from 3 stalks

1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract

dairy-free milk (or regular)

1 square very dark chocolate (I use Lindt 85% Dark), broken into small pieces

1 teaspoon maca powder (optional)

sweetener of choice (optional, the banana was sweet enough for me, but may not be for you)

Place ingredients in your blender and blend well.  If your blender takes a long time to blend everything, consider leaving out the chocolate until everything is nearly blended so you still have slivers of chocolate floating around.

 

 

 

10 comments

  1. I love mint and chocolate Debi! this sounds delicious! i bet coconut milk would be a good choice for a smoothie since it’s so rich! Wonder how it would taste with the mint! I’ll let you know!

    • I actually used So Delicious coconut milk and 365 almond milk while making these (not together). I’ve tried doing canned coconut milk with smoothies and it comes out a little too thick, but I bet frozen canned coconut milk would make it awesome 😀

  2. Not me! I’d never even heard of a Shamrock Shake before. You Americans and your dedication to celebrating anything that even vaguely resembles a holiday 😛 Love it!! And this looks wonderful 🙂

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Cinnamon Chia Pudding |

  4. Pingback: St. Patrick's Day Round-Up (gluten-free, dairy-free, vegan) - In Johnna's Kitchen

  5. Pingback: Gluten-Free Green Mint Dessert Recipes Galore | All Gluten-Free Desserts...All the Time

  6. Pingback: Over 17 Fabulous Gluten-Free Green Mint Desserts! | gfe--gluten free easily


Leave a Reply

