Dairy-free Peppermint Mocha

Dairy-free Peppermint Mocha

JP: How do you drink your coffee black?

Me: Easy.  Pour and drink.

Yes, that was a real conversation with one of my friends who needs a lot of stuff in his coffee to actually like it.  I used to drink my coffee with cream and sugar, but I stopped using sugar years ago.  Then I stopped using cream.  Now it’s just black.  That’s a real coffee lover for you.  Someone who drinks it black and decaf.

I love peppermint mocha this time of year.  Peppermint and chocolate in my coffee, please.  If you didn’t already know about my love for peppermint mocha, you only have to check out my Raw Peppermint Mocha Truffle Cake.  Going dairy-free has put a halt to visits to local coffee shops on occasion for this creamy beverage.  I can stop for my black decaf, but no more mocha.  Not even with soy milk.

I keep toying with the homemade mocha.  I was using my Coco Motion for a while because it would not only heat and mix the raw cacao with the dairy-free milk, but froth the milk a bit, too.  However, I noticed that if dairy-free milk alternatives get too hot, the flavor changes.   And not in a good way.  At least to me.  I don’t know about anyone else out there who use dairy-free milk alternatives to make hot drinks.

Now I warm the milk alternative in a saucepan while whisking in the raw cacao and sweetener while the espresso brews.  Makes for a tasty cup of souped up joe and one happy Debi.

One note before I give you the recipe, the cacao/milk alternative milk mix is also my hot cocoa.  So if you don’t like coffee, omit the espresso and enjoy some hot cocoa full of iron.

Dairy-free Peppermint Mocha (also refined sugar-free)

2 shots espresso (I use decaf, you can also use strongly brewed coffee)

1 heaping tablespoon raw cacao powder

1 tablespoon raw local honey (or other sweetener of your choice)

1 1/2 cup milk alternative (I normally use Whole Foods Unsweetened Almond Milk or So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk)

1/8 – 1/4 teaspoon peppermint extract

Start brewing the espresso.  Add the remainder of the ingredients to a small saucepan on low and whisk together well.  Remove from heat when it warms, but isn’t hot.  Pour espresso into a 16 oz mug and then pour cacao mix into the espresso and give a small stir.   If you want to make it more of an adult beverage, use a shot of Rumple Minze (or other peppermint schnapps) at the end instead of adding the extract.

 

5 comments

  1. Pingback: Mint Chocolate Chip Smoothie/Shake « Hunter's Lyonesse


Leave a Reply

