Chew On This

My new favorite show. They bring joy back to daytime TV.

On September 26th, a new daytime show premiered on ABC after for months and following them on Facebook and Twitter.   The Chew.  Hosted by chefs Michael Symon, Mario Batali, and Carla Hall, health expert Daphne Oz, and What Not To Wear‘s Clinton Kelly.  An hour long show all about food, health, and the occasional indulgence.

I don’t watch daytime TV anymore.  On my days off during the week I usually have some TV show marathon running or movies.  No daytime talk shows, none of those drama filled court shows, and no more soap operas.  Although, I did turn on General Hospital one day last week just to see if anything changed.  Hey, you never know if Laura is coming back!

Carla Hall's Smothered Lemon Chicken

Sorry.  I digress.

The hosts keep me laughing the whole hour and if I work during the show, I can watch it the next day online on the ABC website.  Plus, some of you already know that Michael is one of my favorite celebrity chefs and I’ve been following him since his days on Melting Pot on the Food Network.  One day I will go to up to Cleveland to Lola!   I don’t care if I can’t eat a thing on the menu.  I just want to go.

The first thing I tried this week from last week’s shows was Michael’s Pork & Beans.  I was so hungry and excited I didn’t get a picture until the following day when I ate the leftovers for lunch.  You can check out my Twitter feed for the picture.  This is not the pork and beans that you grew up eating from a can.  Oh no.  This is grown up, healthy pork and beans.  And, it was easily adapted to be gluten-free and dairy-free.

Michael Symon's Chicken with Tomatoes & Olives. 5 ingredients in 5 minutes for $5 (or under) per serving.

Then I tried Carla’s Smothered Lemon Chicken.  Someone made a comment that it tasted like chicken pot pie without the crust when they were tasting it.  If you watched the last season of Top Chef, you know how much Carla loves pot pie.  I could not find frozen pearl onions so I just used sliced onions instead.  It was easily adapted to be gluten and dairy-free again, but I flubbed and added more chicken broth than I should have so the sauce didn’t quite thicken up right.  It was still good though!

Wednesday night, I made Michael’s Chicken with Tomatoes & Olives.  Super easy even without using a grill pan or brick to press the chicken.  I admit I didn’t measure the olives either.  I just kept throwing them in with the tomatoes.  I got about 3/4 cup in there.  I used up a few red potatoes I had laying around and roasted them with some of the thyme and tarragon leftover from the Smothered Lemon Chicken.  This dish was even better the next day for lunch.

Thursday, I used Clinton’s recipe for Eggplant Parmesanas inspiration.  I wanted something indulgent, yet safe for me to eat.  I don’t do a lot of fried foods at all, but I love eggplant and for some reason I really wanted Eggplant Parmesan while watching the show.   I served this with a side of Marsala Spinach.

Gluten-free & Dairy-free Eggplant Parmesan

Eggplant Parmesan – Gluten & Dairy-free, serves 4-6

4 baby eggplants

gluten-free flour (I used garbanzo bean flour)

salt & pepper

3 eggs (or 4)

gluten & dairy-free bread crumbs (you can make your own or buy them)

grapeseed oil

1 jar tomato sauce, 25 ounces (or make your own)

1 block of extra firm tofu

2 tablespoons nutritional yeast

fresh basil

Open tofu and drain as much liquid from it.  Set aside.  Cut off both ends of the baby eggplants and then slice lengthwise.  Place gf flour, eggs, and gf df bread crumbs in separate containers or bowls suitable for dredging.  Place your pan you’ll use for frying on a burner and warm to medium.  Add in a thin layer of grapeseed oil.  I used my square shallow plastic containers.  Season flour with salt and pepper and mix well.  Whisk eggs together well.  Line the containers up with flour furthest from the stove, eggs in the middle, and bread crumbs next to the stove.  Dredge each piece of eggplant into the flour, then the egg, then the bread crumbs.  Fry until golden brown on both sides.  Layer slices in a 9 x 13 baking dishes.  You should have enough for two layers of eggplant.  Heat oven to 350.  Break up tofu into a blender and add 1 tablespoon of the nutritional yeast.  Blend on medium until the tofu is thick and creamy like ricotta.  Scoop out into a bowl and add the rest of the nutritional yeast and mix in with a spoon.  Taste and add more yeast if desired.  Spoon mixture over the eggplant layers and spread as evenly as you can.  Top with the tomato sauce and spread evenly.  Bake for 15 to 40 minutes depending on how well done your eggplant was during frying.  Cut a handful of fresh basil into a chiffonade.  Slice up the Eggplant Parmesan and plate.  Top pieces with basil.

Marsala Spinach

The winners of my Go Dairy Free giveaway are Carrie Forbes and Chrissy.  Email me at debi.ann.smith@gmail.com with your address by 9pm Sunday (10/9).  If I don’t hear from you, I will re-draw for another winner.

This post is linked to Slightly Indulgent Tuesday at Simply Sugar and Gluten-Free.

8 comments

  1. This looks tasty. Part of me wishes I was around during the day to watch that show, but I’m afraid it’d suck me in. So I don’t record it. Instead I stick with my Top Chef addictions. 🙂

  2. Now that I’m home 2 days during the week, I may have to check this show out, Debi! Certainly all the dishes you made/adapted from it are good reason to do so. Bravo, dear, bravo! I bet Chaz is enjoying your newfound tv addiction. 😉

    Oh, and LMAO on General Hospital. I swear I could tune in right now and not much would have changed since the last time I watched it … decades ago!

    xo,
    Shirley

    • LOL If Chaz walks in on me watching The Chew online, he’ll ask, “What are you watching?” When I tell him he looks at me like I’ve never told him a thing about the show. And you are correct about General Hospital. Same old thing. Kids are all “grown up” and part of the drama. I happened to have it on the other day again and Luke came back. LOL Too funny.

  3. I love your blog, you should add an RSS feed feature so I can get automatic notifications of new blogs. If you set one up please email me! i will bookmark you for now. Again Excellent Blog!

  4. Pingback: Excuses and Denial « Hunter's Lyonesse


Leave a Reply

