Review: Totally Together Journal by Stephanie O’Dea

Several weeks ago, I came home from work to a delivery notice on my door.  The complex office was already closed, so I had to wait until the next day to pick it up.  The whole time, I had no idea what I was going to be picking up.  I hadn’t ordered anything and when Chaz got home he said he hadn’t ordered anything.

Imagine my surprise when I finally picked up the package after work the following day and opened it to see this:

Totally Together Journal by Stephanie O'Dea

I was pretty excited because I’ve been waiting for this for months and because it was developed by my friend, Stephanie O’Dea.  If you haven’t heard of Stephanie, now you have and you should also check out her cookbooks, Make It Fast, Cook It Slow and More Make It Fast, Cook It Slow.

I don’t have a routine anymore.  After starting work in retail, any hope for any kind of routine was thrown out the window.  After months of trying to get our new place in order I knew I needed a little help because the system I used before wasn’t working and the system I was trying to implement wasn’t getting off the ground.

Those who know me well know how organized I am.  In my job before last I had to utilize a color coded system so I could look at my monthly calendar and know at a glance what my priorities were before even looking at my daily task list.  That planner went with me wherever I went and had everything in it.  If I was at my desk, it was open so I had my task list in sight at all times.  This was a more refined system from what I used back in college to keep track of papers due versus tests, etc.  When I left that job, I really had no use for the system.  Especially, since I didn’t work for a few months.  I did use another system by a well known person for a while and it worked, but sometimes with all the routines, I felt a bit overwhelmed.  Then it became completely useless for me once I entered the world of retail.

I flipped through the book and then put it down to read my book club book.  Several minutes later, I found myself putting my book down and picking the journal back up to read.  I had it finished before I started dinner.  Stephanie hooked me with using Stephen Covey’s 7 Habits principle and directing them towards home tasks.  I was a long time user of the Franklin Covey planners.  While I never read 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, I knew I was in familiar territory.  My excitement turned to glee.  Imagine that.  Being gleeful about housework.  Stay with me.

I began using the journal immediately and eased myself into it that first week.  I’m nearing the end of week four right now.  It’s almost 2pm on a Friday.  I had my weekly task list done before noon today.  Which is on track with the last two weeks.  Task list done by Thursday or Friday.  I actually intended to mop before work yesterday, but ran out of time and it was too exhausted when I got home.  Granted, I don’t have the yard work or kid related tasks to complete but that just shows that you don’t have to have a house with a yard or kids to find this journal helpful and useful.  In my opinion, it’s perfect for people who can’t have a regular routine like others.  Things still get done!

I just have one thing left to do.  Get Chaz to start using it, too.

Totally Together Journal was released this past Tuesday.  You can find it here on Amazon.  If you’ve been looking for something like this, it will change your life.

Me, Amy Green, & Stephanie O'Dea

12 comments

  1. I love that picture!

    Thank you for your kind words— I had so much fun putting this planner together and am just so happy to be of any help in any way.

    have a great weekend! thank you for making mine! 😉

    • It’s a great picture, Stephanie. 😀 I’m so glad you did this journal. Our place was such a disaster until my cousin came to visit and after she left I was able to keep it picked up, but still had problems with the cleaning. Now, it’s picked up AND clean AND I have a rare Sunday off which means I can PLAY! 😀

  2. Pingback: Adoption of Stephanie O’Dea with Totally Together: Shortcuts to An Organized Life Review and Giveaway | gfe--gluten free easily

  3. Would really love to win as I am a new to parenting (I am an international host mom of 3 kids) cleaning and trying to organize my Mom’s house and clean up her hoarding and now realize that I too have waaaaaay to much stuff and I am always running out of time or something slips through the cracks and I need all the organizational help I can possibly get!

  4. Such a wonderful review, Debi. I have not fully started using Steph’s TTJ yet (today’s the day!), so your review really speaks volumes. Thanks for sharing it and pointing folks my way for the giveaway! 🙂

    Happy Sunday!
    Shirley

  5. That sounds really cool, I need one of those too! Definitely need some organization in my life. Haven’t had any time since we got back from Cali. I need to check it out! Great review!

  6. Pingback: 24-hour Give Away: Totally Together–Secrets to an Organized Life « Stephanie O'Dea


Leave a Reply

