Juice It Up

Wake Up!

I have been doing more juicing lately.  Not only have I been craving juice, it just seems like a great idea with the changing of the seasons.  Spring and Summer just seem to scream for juices.  Light and refreshing.  Energizing.  Nutrient rich.  Sometimes it’s great to drink your fruits and vegetables rather than chew them one by one.

That said, I always have my juice as part of a meal and not as the meal or snack itself.  You lose a lot of fiber from the produce.  The fiber in your meal/snack helps keep the sugars in the juice from going straight to your bloodstream.  Generally, I like my juice with breakfast.  It helps me load up on the natural vitamins I need for my day.  The right combination can help you wake up better than caffeine.  Carrot Apple Juice anyone?

I have 3 juice recipes to share with you.  One that I love for helping me wake up, another that is just completely refreshing and reminiscent of Summer, and the last will help boost your iron levels.

Wake Up Juice

3 apples (I use any type of red apples)

2 carrots

2 cups of grapes.

Place produce in the feeding tube and juice.

Summertime

Summer Lovin’ Juice

1/2 cucumber

2 – 3 cups honeydew melon

Place produce in the feeding tube and juice

Berry Beet-O-Full Juice

4-5 strawberries

1/2 cup black berries

1/2 cup raspberries

1/4 cup blueberries

1 small beet

2 oranges

Berry Beet-O-Full

Place produce in the feeding tube and juice.  This juice is a bit thicker than the others.  The Vitamin C in the oranges helps the body absorb the iron from the beets.  The berries also add some Vitamin C, but tons of antioxidants, as well.

Add a slice of two of ginger with the fruits and veggies for an added zing!

14 comments

    • Thanks, Jeanette! It was a lot of fun finding the right combo to share (I normally just throw stuff in and don’t care. lol) and thinking up the names to go with what I was thinking. 😀

  1. Oh my goodness, I am coming over for some juice! These recipes make me want to run out and buy a juicer. It is on my list of must-have appliances! I’ll be coming to you when I do 🙂

  2. Pingback: Adopt-A-Gluten-Free-Blogger: Gluten-Free Gigi « Hunter's Lyonesse

  3. I didn’t realize we were on the same wavelength! You’ve got a lot of antioxidants in there, Debi! Your body’s thanking you… Sometimes, I’ll make crackers with my juice pulp or add some of it into my muffin batter, but more often it just goes into the compost. Which makes me so sad to throw out all that good fiber! But the juice is so healing…getting all those nutrients without taxing your digestive system!

  4. Pingback: Rogue Rouge « Hunter's Lyonesse


Leave a Reply

