Garlicky Sweet Potato Fries

Garlicky Sweet Potato Fries

I fell in love with Sweet Potato Fries years ago when we did the South Beach Diet.  Chaz bought some Alexia brand sweet potato fries one night to go with a veggie burger and it was never the same in our home again.  There are times when I do want good regular gf fries.  Preferably from a restaurant.  It’s hard to find good fries at a restaurant that I can actually eat so it’s rare that I have them.  If I’m making them, it’s always sweet potato fries.  There is just so much more flavor.  And beta carotene.  And complex carbs.  And dietary fiber, Vitamin C, and Vitamin B6.  Wow.  All that packed into a sweet potato!

I was in the middle of cutting the fries on Tuesday and I decided I wanted some garlicky fries.  Have I mentioned I love garlic, too?  The more, the better sometimes.  It was my favorite part of dinner Tuesday, which was also gluten-free hot dogs on Udi’s gf hot dog buns, and raw veg (celery, radishes, and carrots) with a cilantro lime dipping sauce (that needs serious tweaking before sharing with you).

Garlicky Sweet Potato Fries (serves 4)

2 medium to large sweet potatoes, cut into fries

4 garlic cloves

1 teaspoon cumin (or more or less)

salt

pepper

grapeseed oil (or other oil of your choice)

1/4 cup cilantro, chopped fine

Lay out the sweet potato fries on a baking sheet and preheat oven to 350.  Press garlic out through a garlic press over the fries and mix together.  If you don’t have a garlic press, mince the garlic well and then mix in with the fries.  Add cumin, salt, pepper, and oil and mix again.  Make sure fries are spread evenly.  Bake for at least 30 minutes.  You might need longer if you like your fries more done.  Let cool for a few minutes and sprinkle cilantro over the fries.  Toss together if needed to distribute the cilantro.

This post is linked to Seasonal Sunday and Slightly Indulgent Tuesday.

9 comments

  1. Yep! I will be trying these. Garlic and sweet potatoes are two of my fave foods too. Sweet potato fries are WAY better than regular fries, though I have yet to convince my kids of this!

  2. Oh, yum, this is right up my alley with the garlic and cumin! Not sure on the cilantro though. 😉 Will report back. Don’t think my basic store carries the ready-made sweet potato fries either. Bummer. Anyway, thanks, Debi!

    xo,
    Shirley

    • Trust me, Shirley! 😀 The cilantro really gives it a good finish and compliments the rest of the flavors…even if it doesn’t sound like it. Ready made sweet potato fries are for the birds. They are so much better when you use fresh sweet potatoes!

  3. Pingback: Dairy-free Chocolate Cinnamon Ice Cream « Hunter's Lyonesse


Leave a Reply

