Zinger!

Fresh Ginger Root

I loved Zingers.  The ones with raspberry.  I could eat almost a whole box in one sitting.  That sugar just drove me to eat “just one more.”  Same thing with Little Debbie Swiss Cake Rolls.  Chaz used to tease me about having a stash.  Well, if I left them in the pantry they’d be gone before I could get one or two.  Residual habit from living with my parents, brother, and sisters.  Junk food would be gone in minutes before I had a chance to get any of it so I didn’t eat much junk food unless I was out with friends.

I’m sure I could concoct some kind of gluten-free Zinger taste-a-like.  Honestly though, I’m not interested in even trying.  The zinger that I’m most interested in these days is ginger.

I love ginger.  The more the better.  I love that it has natural healing properties.  It’s great for nausea, gastrointestinal problems, and sore throats.  Ginger is one of my go-to foods when I’m sick.  I’ll boil it in water to use to make tea.  I’ll boil it with a little meat to make Voo Doo Soup, an ex-roommate’s concoction which does help you feel better.  I have some ginger candy that I use when my throat hurts.  It’s good for the heart and has some anti-inflammatory properties, as well.

Zinger Juice

I love to add it when I’m juicing.  It gives me that zing in the morning that perks me right up.  It also adds a little spice to the veggie and fruit mix, especially if I wind up a little too heavy on the veggies.  I tend to us a lot of ginger if I use it in juicing so it is potent.  If you aren’t that big of a ginger fan, use less if you try this out.

Zinger Juice

1 beet with stems and leaves

2 carrots

1 thumb length piece of ginger

1 apple

1 orange, peeled

2-3 cups black grapes

Wash the beet, carrots, ginger and grapes well.  Do not peel the beets or carrots.  If your beet, apple, and peeled orange are too big for your juicer’s tube, quarter them before juicing.  Place ingredients into the tube and juice.  It took 3 fillings of the tube to get everything juiced.  This yielded slightly more than 16 ounces.  You can vary the fruits and veggies.  I will sometimes add berries when I have fresh berries.

4 comments

  1. Boy, does that look good, Debi! You had me going for a moment on the Zinger … I should have known though. You are too sensible to make gf Zingers. A Zinger juice drink using ginger makes so much more sense! 😉

    Shirley

    • I have no doubt that I could make gf Zingers. I just don’t want to! lol I love adding ginger to my juices like I like adding spices or even mustard greens to my smoothies to spice them up and give them that little kick. 😀

  2. Pingback: In My Gluten-Free Kitchen-Debi of Hunter’s Lyonesse | Celiacs in the House

  3. Pingback: Ginger Spread «


Leave a Reply

