XX

Me and the phenomenal Stick. Photo effects are thanks to her son. Kinda makes for a cool all natural blur.

Two remarkable chromosomes determine whether we are male or female.  Most of us are either XX or XY.  Some people are born with an extra chromosome.

It’s amazing to look back at Western history and see how far women have come in their place in society.  We still have a ways to go as far as true equality is concerned, but that will come with time.

We are still having to advocate heavily for ourselves as we go to doctor after doctor seeking to figure out what ails us only to be told, “It’s all in your head.”  I’ve never had a doctor tell me that directly, but the partner of my former doctor clearly wanted to say it when I was in for the 4th time in less than a month trying to figure out why the sinus turned respiratory infection wouldn’t get any better after 2 rounds of antibiotics.   “You just started the 2nd round 2 days ago.  I don’t think you’ve given it enough time.”  Yes, I am not a doctor.  I know my body.  I know how antibiotics work and how I feel when I take them.  When I see no difference after 48 hours and I’m having intermittent fevers, I know something is rotten in Denmark.  I was so upset, frustrated, and felt he was just minutes away from telling me, “It’s all in your head.”  I burst into tears in front of him and his PA.  Well that got his attention.   Nothing like a patient getting extremely emotional, right?  Well, that led to some other questions about my mental status.  I nearly yelled, “I’ve been sick for 3 weeks and I’m not getting any better.  I just want to be well!”  I didn’t yell, but I managed to get it out in the midst of my blubbering.  Thankfully, one of those fevers hit me while I was still there and I got real pale.  He took me seriously after his PA confirmed my skin was clammy.  Thank goodness I only had to put up with Dr. Wright’s partners when he was on vacation or it was a Friday and I was really sick.  He had another partner whom I refused to see again after he wouldn’t listen to me.  He had that I’m-the-doctor-so-of-course-I’m-right-and-you’re-wrong attitudes.  When the meds he gave me made me worse I wanted to call him and tell him, “I told you so.”  He’s lucky I’m not that kind of person.

In my journey to recover from my hypothyroid’s effects on my health and then gluten’s effects, I’ve been fortunate that I’ve had doctors treating me that really listen and value my input.  It’s a struggle in Western medicine to get doctor’s to take us seriously.  Especially when there are doctor’s out there who forget that their patients know their body the best.

If you’re having problems with your doctor and there are other doctor’s out there, fire your doctor.  You aren’t legally obligated to keep seeing a doctor if they aren’t giving you good service.  If you had bad service at a restaurant, car dealership, or store would you go back?  I don’t.  We deserve exemplary service from doctors.  We go to them and put our lives in their hands.  We trust them to help us get better.   There is no reason to put up with doctors that treat us like we’re lunatics just because we’re women and they can’t figure out what ails us.  I’d much rather hear, “I don’t know” from them than, “It’s all in your head.”

Leave a Reply

