Vitamin D

Playing with the camera at the zoo is a great way to get some natural Vitamin D

Are you getting enough?  I wasn’t.  The first time my previous doctor tested my level, it was in the single digits.  SINGLE DIGITS!  My iron was low, too, so no wonder I had no energy at the time.   Also no wonder that I picked up colds, infections, and the flu easily from others.

Vitamin D helps keep our immune system boosted.  I never took Vitamin D supplements until 2 years ago.  I was always outside getting natural Vitamin D before moving to Kentucky.  Nor did I have a flu shot before the move.  I liked being outside.  Plus, I didn’t have a car so I was always walking to where I needed to go or taking the bus.  I was lucky enough to work outside with kids for a few years, too.  Lots and lots of Vitamin D.

Vitamin D deficiencies are common for people with hypothyroidism and gluten intolerance or Celiac.  I figure that the gluten wore down my vili in my small intestines.  The vili were then unable to carry any nutrients to the rest of my body, including my thyroid.  I think one of the things that kept me from getting so sick all my life was the time I spent in the sun.

I made a special effort to be outside more once the deficiency was discovered.  I was reading outside.  I took more walks.  I started doing intervals outside.  I went more places to take pictures.  If it was sunny, I wanted to be outdoors and soak up the sun.

Now that we are in Ohio, it seems I am still deficient despite having taken the prescription Vitamin D (50,000 IU per week) for 6 months.  My new integrative doctor explained to me that the prescription Vitamin D and D3 are not absorbed the same way.  So, I am now on 50,000 IU Vitamin D3.

I get outside as much as I can, too.  Even though it is warming up here, the weather isn’t cooperating on my off days much.  I’ll get a sunny day here and there, but mostly it’s overcast or rainy.  Breaks outside at work while sunny haven’t worked out well either.  It’s hard to eat your lunch while everything is blowing off the table.  I figure even if I can’t be out as much as I’d like, I’ll still be taking supplements while living out here.  Can’t escape the Mid-West Winters while living in the Mid-West.

Are you getting enough Vitamin D?  Chances are you aren’t unless you live in areas that are sunny and relatively warm year round.

2 comments


Leave a Reply

