Toe-MAY-toe. Toe-MAH-toe.

Gluten-free Fried Green Tomatoes with Creamy Garlic Basil Sauce

I like tomatoes.  Granny used to grow them in containers next to her roses.  I’ve tried to grow them with no luck.  I grow a good tomato stalk though.  Green and fragrant like it should smell.

I really enjoy fresh tomatoes.  I rarely buy canned tomatoes even if it will make dinner prep easy.  Not to mention, I like to avoid the BPA in the liner of the cans.  Now and then I’ll have a can in the pantry for emergencies.  If anything calls for canned tomatoes I still use fresh.

Back in college, I started making my own sauces for pasta using fresh tomatoes and other fresh veggies.  Then, I went through a period in which I didn’t want tomato sauce of any kind.  Mostly, the jarred kind.  Making a simple sauce for your pasta is pizza can be easy if you let go of pre-conceived notions of simmering sauce for hours on end.

I saw some nice green tomatoes right next to the tomatillos (I still need to experiment with those) while grocery shopping a few weeks ago.  I thought, I haven’t had fried green tomatoes in a long time.  What did I do?  I picked up two of them to experiment.

I was close to turning on the laptop while trying to figure out what kind of sauce to make for them.  Funny thing is, when I was eating gluten-full foods, I never used the sauce that came with the fried green tomatoes.  Go figure.  I started thinking about what I had on hand though.  I wanted to use some of the fresh basil I had.  Then it hit me.  Greek yogurt.  I had bought extra while using it for some dinners.  What I wound up with is something that can be both sauce and spread.  It is more spread-like in consistency as it is thick and not thin.  But it was oh-so-good.  I was thinking about using it in sandwiches and then couldn’t wait for an after-work snack the next day with the leftovers.  Gluten-free Fried Green Tomato Sandwich!

Gluten-free Fried Green Tomato Sandwich

Gluten-free Fried Green Tomatoes

2 green tomatoes, sliced

grapeseed oil (or other healthy oil of your choice)

gfe’s breading for fried calamari (I halved the recipe and still had extra)

Heat the oil in a frying pan.  Dredge the tomato slices in the breading mix and place in the heated oil.  Let fry until golden brown.  Turn and fry until golden brown on the other side.  Remove to a plate lined with rags or paper towels to soak up the extra oil.  The tomatoes were still firm and the breading was soft.  I found that placing them on parchment paper in the oven for 10 minutes at 350 will help soften the tomatoes and firm up the breading for that blend of crunch and smoosh that people expect with fried green tomatoes.

Creamy Garlic Basil Sauce

6 ounces Greek Yogurt

1-3 garlic cloves (depending on your level of taste for garlic)

handful fresh basil leaves

salt

Add all ingredients to a food processor or blender and process/blend until smooth and creamy.  The sauce will be on the thick side.

Leave a Reply

