Quinoa

Garam Masala Quinoa

Quinoa.  I’d say it’s a great grain, but it’s not really a grain.  It’s a seed.  I learn new things all the time.  I used to think it was a grain.  Why wouldn’t I?  It look like a grain and you can use it like you would a grain.  But, it’s a seed.  A seed that is a complete protein.  It is high in folate, phosphorus, and iron.

Quinoa is coated with saponins which are bitter.  Some manufacturers process the quinoa to remove the saponins.  Some don’t.  I learned this after making this dish.  Chaz kept tasting something bitter.  I didn’t.  So, I rinse my quinoa to remove any potential saponins now.

When it comes to fixing quinoa, I tend to use other people’s recipes.  Or to fix it plain.  Several weeks ago, I decided to play around with it.

I knew I wanted to use mustard seeds and garam masala.  My imagination took me from there.

Garam Masala Quinoa

1-2 tablespoons coconut oil

1/2 onion chopped

1-2 tablespoons mustard seeds

2 teaspoons garam masala

1/2 – 1 cup carrots chopped

1 cup quinoa, uncooked (rinsed)

1 1/2 – 2 cups water

1-2 cups bell peppers, diced

salt

Warm coconut oil in a large skillet.  Add onions, mustard seed, garam masala, and carrots.  Cook for 5 minutes, stirring frequently.  Add quinoa and water, stir.  Add peppers and salt.  Stir.  Cover and cook until water is absorbed.  Taste and adjust seasonings.

2 comments

  1. Hi Debi,

    I couldn’t find a contact for you anywhere so I’m asking here. I recently decided to start doing a weekly gluten-free, vegetarian recipe roundup. I plan to include this recipe plus your Eggs en Cocotte this week. If you want, I’d be happy to include the pictures from the posts. In general I think people are more interested in recipes if they can see a picture. But since it’s your picture, I figured I’d ask and see if it was ok with you first.

    Just shoot me an email and let me know. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Vegetarian, Gluten-Free Recipe Roundup


Leave a Reply

