Poké

Ahi Poke

One of the things that immediately came to mind when Brittany asked me to take part in April in the Raw was sushi.  I am a sushi lover and if you haven’t seen my previous posts on sushi or you aren’t one of my Facebook friends on my personal page, then now is the time to tell you that I battle the Ninja Sushi Army as often as Chaz lets me and I always win.

I figured it couldn’t really be considered raw if I had to cook rice for it.  No go.

But wait!   A popular pupu (appetizer) back home is poké.  My simplest explanation for you is marinated raw fish.  Not quite ceviche since there are no acids that cook the fish.  This is raw fish.  It’s even eaten as a snack or as part of a meal.  It’s common to be at big family gathering and see a plastic container being passed around and people using chopsticks to get some out while everyone is eating, just sitting around talking story, or heavy into kanikapila (singing while playing guitar and ukulele).  My favorite is when kanikapila is going on.  It pairs well with beer.

There are many different ways to make poké.  One of the most often used fish is ahi tuna.  It’s also more widely available throughout the Mainland, which is why I chose it for this dish.  I also went for the easiest way to make this.  I know how simple dishes have great appeal to people looking for something different.  I also know this is a dish for an adventurer.  I’m sure there are some people reading this thinking, “Ewwww!”  That’s okay.  Maybe one day!  The rest of you who love to try new things, here you go.

Onoliciousness!

Ahi Poké

1/2 pound raw tuna cut into 1/2 – 1″ size cubes

1 stalk green onion, sliced

1/2 cup fresh ogo (type of seaweed) or 2 tablespoons dried and soaked in water

2 teaspoons sesame oil

1/2 – 1 teaspoon Hawaiian salt (if you can’t find Hawaiian salt, use a very coarse sea salt)

1/4 teaspoon crushed red chili pepper

Mix ingredients together in a small mixing bowl and refrigerate for at least an hour.  This will give the salt time to soak into the tuna.

8 comments

  1. This is one of those things I’m so intimidated by, but really want to learn! I would love to take a sushi making class…want to teach one?

  2. My husband just returned from a conference in Hawaii and is so excited for me to try this. Any tips on buying the right kind of fish that can be eaten raw? Do you go to a local market or just a regular grocery store.

    Thanks for all of the great recipes.

    • Jan, I’d start with the red tuna like I used. I buy my fish from Whole Foods because their fish is fresher than a regular grocer. If you have a local fish market that sells really fresh seafood, go there. You want it as fresh as possible and to make it the same day you buy it.


Leave a Reply

